Non-Standing Committee or Commission
A committee or commission authorized by legislation to study specific topics. The powers and duties of each committee are set forth in the authorizing legislation. The membership is appointed by the Speaker of the House and/or the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. In some instances other persons or entities may have appointing authority.