GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

SENATE BILL 690 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO APPOINTMENTS MADE IN THE 2019 APPOINTMENTS BILLS AND TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. MODIFICATIONS

SECTION 1.1. Section 1.12 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.12.** Benjamin Curtis of Rockingham County and Pamela <u>Thomas Thompson</u> of Alamance County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring on February 28, 2021."

SECTION 1.2. Section 1.13 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.13.** The Honorable Jim Perry of Lenoir County, The Honorable Jim Burgin of Harnett County, The Honorable Vickie Sawyer of Iredell County, Helen Brann of Person County, Christopher Dobbins of Gaston County, Heather Breedlove of Wake County, Shonda Corbett of Wake County, and Dr. David Huang of Orange County are appointed to the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force for terms expiring on June 30, 2023.2021."

SECTION 1.3. Section 1.15(b) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.15.(b)** Ed <u>Emery Emory of</u> Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for a term expiring on July 1, 2021."

SECTION 1.4. Section 1.23 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.23.** Effective January 1, 2020, James Gussler, Gusler, Jr., of Caswell County is appointed to the North Carolina Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term expiring on December 31, 2023."

SECTION 1.5. Section 1.36 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.36. James Pressley James Pressly of Iredell County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term expiring on August 31, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Roy Helm."

SECTION 1.6. Section 1.45 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.45.** Patrick Joyce of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring on July June 30, 2021."

SECTION 1.7. Section 1.53 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.53.** <u>Diana Diane</u> Smith of Caldwell County is appointed to the State Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners for a term expiring on June 30, 2022."

SECTION 1.8. Section 2.3 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.3. Effective October 1, 2019, Dr. <u>Leslie D. Leslie O.</u> McKesson of Burke County is appointed to the African-American Heritage Commission for a term expiring on September 30, 2022."

SECTION 1.9. Section 2.27 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:



"**SECTION 2.27.** Effective January 1, 2020, Dr. Lawrence R. Nycum of Forsyth County, Dr. Costa Andreou of Gaston County, and James A. "Adam" Sholar of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Board of Directors for terms expiring on January 1, December 31, 2023."

SECTION 1.9A. Section 2.38 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.38.(a) If House Bill 200, 2019 Regular Session, becomes law, then effective Effective September 1, 2019, Dr. Charles Westley Wood of Wilkes County, Dr. Van O. Dempsey, III, of New Hanover County, Dr. Connie O. Locklear of Robeson County, and Samuel H. Houston, Jr., of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for terms expiring on August 31, 2020.

SECTION 2.38.(b) If House Bill 200, 2019 Regular Session, becomes law, then effective Effective September 1, 2019, Michael D. Hicks of Union County, Dr. Virginia Ann Bullock of Alamance County, Aaron Fleming of Harnett County, and Joseph W. Childers of Stokes County are appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for terms expiring on August 31, 2021."

SECTION 1.10. Section 2.39 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.39.** Alexander A. Guess of Durham Wake County is appointed to the Property Tax Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2023."

SECTION 1.11. Section 2.44(a) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.44.(a) Lige <u>Dautridge Daughtridge</u> of Nash County and Thomas S. Hester of Vance County are appointed to the Rural Infrastructure Authority for terms expiring on June 30, 2020."

PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1.(a) Dr. Sara L. Neal of Forsyth County is appointed to the Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2020.

SECTION 2.1.(b) Dr. Phillip Stephens of Robeson County is appointed to the Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.

SECTION 2.2. Effective October 1, 2019, Laurie T. Stickney of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.3. C. Theodore Hicks II of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Capital Facilities Finance Agency Board of Directors for a term expiring on February 28, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Vincent DeBenedetto.

SECTION 2.4. Dr. Rita C. Haire of Davidson County is appointed to the North Carolina Charter Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Phyllis Gibbs.

SECTION 2.4A. Amanda Donovan of Wake County is appointed to the Disciplinary Hearing Commission of the North Carolina State Bar for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of John M. Kane.

SECTION 2.5. The Honorable Jeffery P. Tarte of Mecklenburg County and Keith D. Briggs of Wake County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms expiring on January 1, 2021.

SECTION 2.6. Dr. Eric D. Morse of Wake County is appointed to the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.

PART III. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 3.1.(a) Dr. Scott A. Playford of Onslow County is appointed to the Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2020.

SECTION 3.1.(b) Dr. Dennis R. Reno of Cleveland County is appointed to the Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.

SECTION 3.2. Dr. Rocco F. DiSanto of Burke County and Dr. Gerald W. Poplin of Stanly County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms expiring on January 1, 2021.

SECTION 3.3.(a) Tabari A. Wallace of Craven County is appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for a term expiring on August 31, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Joseph W. Childers.

SECTION 3.3.(b) B. Freebird McKinney of Alamance County is appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for a term expiring on August 31, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Michael D. Hicks.

SECTION 3.4. Kevin C. Skinner of Pitt County is appointed to the Rural Infrastructure Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Lindsey R. Griffin.

PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 4.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided, terms begin upon the effective date of this act.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of October, 2019.

s/ Bill Rabon Presiding Officer of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore

Speaker of the House of Representatives