GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

SESSION LAW 2020-5 HOUSE BILL 85

AN ACT TO REMOVE LEE, ONSLOW, AND ROCKINGHAM COUNTIES FROM THE MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION PROGRAM.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 143-215.107A(c) reads as rewritten:

"(c) Counties Covered. – Motor vehicle emissions inspections shall be performed in the following counties: Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union, and Wake."

SECTION 2. No later than December 31, 2020, the Department of Environmental Quality shall prepare and submit to the United States Environmental Protection Agency for approval by that agency a proposed North Carolina State Implementation Plan amendment based on the change to the motor vehicle emissions testing program provided in this act.

SECTION 3. Section 1 of this act becomes effective on the later of the following dates and applies to motor vehicles inspected, or due to be inspected, on or after that effective date:

- (1) January 1, 2021.
- (2) The first day of a month that is 60 days after the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality certifies to the Revisor of Statutes that the United States Environmental Protection Agency has approved an amendment to the North Carolina State Implementation Plan submitted as required by Section 2 of this act. The Secretary shall provide this notice along with the effective date of this act on its Web site and by written or electronic notice to emissions inspection mechanic license holders, emissions inspection station licensees, and self-inspector licensees in the county where motor vehicle emissions inspection requirements are removed by this act.



SECTION 4. Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of May, 2020.

> s/ Philip E. Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives

s/ Roy Cooper Governor

Approved 12:25 p.m. this 5th day of June, 2020