GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2019**

Η 1 **HOUSE BILL 201**

Short Title:	Register of Deeds Tax Cert. Expansion. (Pub	blic)
Sponsors:	Representatives Hurley and McNeill (Primary Sponsors). For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.	
Referred to:	State and Local Government, if favorable, Finance, if favorable, Rules, Calen and Operations of the House	ıdar,

February 27, 2019

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW ANY COUNTY TO NOT ACCEPT THE REGISTRATION OF A DEED TRANSFERRING REAL PROPERTY WHEN TAXES ARE DELINQUENT.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:

"§ 161-31. Tax certification.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20

21

22

23 24

25

26

27 28

- Tax Certification. The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.
- (a1) Exception to Tax Certification. - If a board of county commissioners adopts a resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument prepared by: _____, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds."
- Applicability. This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties."
 - **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

