GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2017**

S

SENATE BILL 466

	Short Title:	CIHS Funds. (I	Public)	
	Sponsors: Senators Smith-Ingram, Ballard, Woodard (Primary Sponsors); and Cook.			
	Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate			
	March 30, 2017			
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED		
2		O PROVIDE FUNDING FOR THE COOPERATIVE INNOVATIVE		
3		S APPROVED BY THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION TO OPEN IN		
4		7 SCHOOL YEAR AND THOSE SCHOOLS APPROVED TO OPEN IN	I THE	
5	2017-2018 SCHOOL YEAR.			
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:			
7	SECTION 1.(a) There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Department of			
8	Public Instruction the sum of seven million seven hundred sixty-six thousand seven hundred			
9 10	twenty-five dollars (\$7,766,725) in recurring funds for the 2017-2018 fiscal year to allocate to			
10	local school administrative units with the following cooperative innovative high schools approved by the State Board of Education:			
11	(1) Cooperative innovative schools approved for operation beginning with the			
12	(1	2016-2017 school year: Alamance-Burlington Early College, Alex		
13		Early College, Cabarrus Early College of Technology, Camden		
15		College, Chatham County School of Science and Engineering, C		
16		Medicine Cooperative Innovative High School, Gaston Early College	-	
17		School, Hillside New Tech Cooperative Innovative High School, Jol	-	
18		County Career and Technical Academy, Northampton County New		
19		Early College, Person Early College for Innovation and Leadership,		
20		County School of Engineering and Design, and Wayne School		
21		Engineering at Goldsboro High School.		
22	(2	Cooperative innovative schools approved for operation beginning with	th the	
23		2017-2018 school year: Ashe County Early College High School, I		
24		Early College High School, Charlotte Middle College at Merancas Ca	± .	
25		Charlotte Teacher Cadet Early College, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank	•	
26		College, Harnett County Early College, Agriculture and Science	-	
27		College, McDowell Academy for Innovation, Montgomery County		
28		College, Onslow Early College High School, Wake CTE High School	North,	
29 20	CI	and Washington County Early College High School.		
30	SECTION 1.(b) Of the funds appropriated in subsection (a) of this section, the			
31 32	Department shall allocate the sum of three hundred ten thousand six hundred sixty-nine dollars			
52 33	(\$310,669) each fiscal year to a local school administrative unit for each cooperative innovative high school listed in subsection (a) of this section that is located in the unit.			
33 34	0	ECTION 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2017.		
54	51	ECTION 2. This act occomes checuve July 1, 2017.		

