GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

S SENATE BILL 306

Short Title:	Subdivide Mecklenburg County District Courts.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senators Tarte and Bishop (Primary Sponsors).	
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate	

March 20, 2017

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO SUBDIVIDE MECKLENBURG COUNTY DISTRICT COURTS TO MIRROR
THE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4

5

6

7

8

9

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

District	Judges	County
1	5	Camden
		Chowan
		Currituck
		Dare
		Gates
		Pasquotank
		Perquimans
2	4	Martin
		Beaufort
		Tyrrell
		Hyde
		Washington
3A	5	Pitt
3B	6	Craven
		Pamlico
		Carteret
4	8	Sampson
		Duplin
		Jones
		Onslow
5	9	New Hanover
		Pender
6	4	Northampton
		Bertie
		Hertford



Halifa	X
7 7 Nash	
Edgec	ombe
Wilso	
8 6 Wayne	e
Green	
Lenoir	r
9 4 Granv	
	of Vance
-	bsection (b))
Frankl	
9A 2 Person	
Caswe	
9B 2 Warre	
	of Vance
	bsection (b))
10 19 Wake	osection (o))
11 11 Harne	ff
Johnst	
Lee	ton
	erland
13 6 Blader	
Bruns	
Colum	
14 7 Durha	
15A 4 Alama	
15B 5 Orang	
Chath	
16A 6 Scotla	nd
Hoke	
Anson	
Richm	
16B 5 Robes	
	ngham
17B 4 Stokes	8
Surry	
18 14 Guilfo	
19A 5 Cabar	
19B 7 Montg	gomery
Moore	2
Rando	olph
19C 5 Rowar	n
20A 2 Stanly	7
	of Union
•	bsection (b))
	of Union
<u>*</u>	bsection (b))
20D 1 Union	
21 11 Forsyt	
22A 5 Alexa	
Iredell	

	General Assemb	oly Of North Carolina	Session 2017
1	22B	6	Davidson
2			Davie
3	23	4	Alleghany
4			Ashe
5			Wilkes
6			Yadkin
7	24	4	Avery
8	21	·	Madison
9			Mitchell
10			Watauga
11			Yancey
12	25	9	Burke
13	23	9	Caldwell
13 14			Catawba
	26261	217	
15	26 <u>26A</u>	21 7	part of Mecklenburg
16	26B	<u>/</u>	part of Mecklenburg
17	<u>26C</u>	<u>7</u> <u>7</u> 7	part of Mecklenburg
18	27A		Gaston
19	27B	6	Cleveland
20	20	_	Lincoln
21	28	7	Buncombe
22	29A	3	McDowell
23			Rutherford
24	29B	4	Henderson
25			Polk
26			Transylvania
27	30	6	Cherokee
28			Clay
29			Graham
30			Haywood
31			Jackson
32			Macon
33			Swain.
34	(b) For d	listrict court districts of less that	in a whole county, or with part or all of one
35	county with part	of another, the composition of the	ne district is as follows:
36	(1)	District Court District 9 consi	sts of Franklin and Granville Counties and the
37		remainder of Vance County no	ot in District Court District 9B.
38	(2)	District Court District 9B con	sists of Warren County and East Henderson I,
39		North Henderson I, North	Henderson II, Middleburg, Townsville, and
40		Williamsboro Precincts of Var	nce County.
41	(3)	District Court District 20C con	nsists of the remainder of Union County not in
42		District Court District 20B.	
43	(4)	District Court District 20B of	consists of Precinct 01: Tract 204.01: Block
44		Group 2: Block 2040, Block	2057, Block 2058, Block 2060, Block 2061,
45		*	ck 2065; Tract 204.02: Block Group 2: Block
46			3, Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2006, Block
47			9, Block 2010, Block 2011, Block 2012, Block
48			5, Block 2016, Block 2017, Block 2018, Block
49			6, Block 2026, Block 2027, Block 2028, Block
50		·	, Block 2032, Block 2033, Block 2034; Block
51			3003, Block 3004, Block 3005, Block 3006,

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

Block 3007, Block 3008, Block 3009, Block 3010, Block 3011, Block 3012, Block 3013, Block 3014, Block 3015, Block 3016, Block 3017, Block 3018, Block 3019, Block 3020, Block 3021, Block 3022, Block 3023, Block 3024, Block 3025, Block 3026, Block 3027, Block 3028, Block 3029, Block 3030, Block 3031, Block 3032, Block 3033, Block 3034, Block 30 35, Block 3036, Block 3037, Block 3038, Block 3039, Block 3040, Block 3041, Block 3042, Block 3043, Block 3044, Block 3045, Block 3046, Block 3047; Block Group 4: Block 4035, Block 4054, Block 4055; Precinct 02: Tract 205: Block Group 1: Block 1000, Block 1001, Block 1002, Block 1003, Block 1004, Block 1005, Block 1006, Block 1007, Block 1009, Block 1010, Block 1011, Block 1012, Block 1013, Block 1014, Block 1015, Block 1016, Block 1017, Block 1018, Block 1019, Block 1020, Block 1021, Block 1022, Block 1023, Block 1037, Block 1038; Block Group 2: Block 2081, Block 2082, Block 2092, Block 2099, Block 2100, Block 2101, Block 2102; Tract 206: Block Group 3: Block 3036, Block 3038, Block 3039, Block 3040, Block 3048; Block Group 4: Block 4053; Precinct 03, Precinct 04, Precinct 06: Tract 202.02: Block Group 1: Block 1012, Block 1013, Block 1014, Block 1015, Block 1017, Block 1018, Block 1021, Block 1022, Block 1023; Tract 204.01: Block Group 2: Block 2000, Block 2001, Block 2002, Block 200 3, Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2033, Block 2034, Block 2035, Block 2036, Block 2041, Block 2042, Block 2043, Block 2044, Block 2045, Block 2056, Block 2063, Block 2999; Precinct 08, Precinct 09, Precinct 10, Precinct 13, Precinct 23: Tract 206: Block Group 4: Block 4051; Precinct 25: Tract 206: Block Group 4: Block 4036; Precinct 34, Precinct 36, Precinct 43 of Union County.

- (5) <u>District Court District 26A consists of the composition listed in</u> G.S. 7A-41(b) (26).
- (6) <u>District Court District 26B consists of the composition listed in</u> G.S. 7A-41(b) (27).
- (7) District Court District 26C consists of the composition listed in G.S. 7A-41(b)(28).

Precinct boundaries as used in this section for Vance County are those shown on maps on file with the Legislative Services Office on May 1, 1991, for Union County, are those shown on the Legislative Services Office's redistricting computer database on January 1, 2005; and for other counties are those reported by the United States Bureau of the Census under Public Law 94-171 for the 1990 Census in the IVTD Version of the TIGER files.

...."

SECTION 2. This act becomes effective January 1, 2018.