## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

S SENATE BILL 218

Short Title:	Town of Franklin/Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator J. Davis (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate.	

## March 11, 2015

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF FRANKLIN.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

.

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10

4

5

6 7 8

9

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22 23

2425

26

27

28 29

30

31 32

- (4) If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
- (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon.

33 ...." 34

**SECTION 2.** This act applies to the Town of Franklin only.

35 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

