GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

FILED SENATE May 29, 2013 S.R. 726 PRINCIPAL CLERK D

SENATE RESOLUTION DRSR75305-LG-141 (04/16)

	Sponsors:	Senator Pate (Primary Sponsor).	
_	Referred to:		
1		RESOLUTION HONORING EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY MEN'S	
2	BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2013 COLLEGEINSIDERS.COM		
3	POSTSEASON TOURNAMENT.		
4 5	Whereas, on April 2, 2013, East Carolina University men's basketball team captured the 2013 CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament (CIT) Championship; and		
6	Whereas, with only seconds left in the game, East Carolina scored a three-point goal		
7	to defeat Webber State University by a score of 77-74; and		
8	Whereas, this victory over the Wildcats gave the Pirates their first postseason		
9	tournament championship; and		
10	Whereas, the Pirates ended the season with a record of 23-12, tying the university's		
11	record for the most wins in a season as a Division I team; and		
12	Whereas, during the university's 80-year basketball history, the men's basketball		
13	team has had only seven 18-win seasons, including two of the last three seasons with 18 or		
14	more wins; and		
15	W	hereas, the Pirates finished conference play in 2013 with a record of 9-7, posting	
16	the team's firs	t winning record during its 12-year membership in Conference USA; and	
17	Whereas, Head Coach Jeff Lebo took over the team in 2010 and became the first		
18	coach in the u	niversity's history to win 50 games in his first three seasons; and	
19	W	hereas, Coach Lebo has helped the Pirates win 56 games in three seasons, earning	
20	the men's basketball program its most successful three-year run in the university's history; and		
21	Whereas, several individual team members were recognized for their efforts during		
22	the 2012-2013 season, including senior Maurice Kemp, who was named the CIT Most		
23	Valuable Player and the first ECU player to be named First-Team All-Conference USA; and		
24		hereas, senior Miguel Paul earned CIT All-Tournament team honors, along with	
25	0	Sampson, and was also named Second-Team All-Conference USA for the second	
26	•	on, becoming the first Pirate to earn All-Conference USA honors in multiple	
27	seasons; and		
28		hereas, junior Akeem Richmond scored the winning goal during the CIT	
29		game and led Conference USA in three-point field goals per game; and	
30		hereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of the	
31		asketball program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina	
32	and deserve recognition; Now, therefore,		
33		by the Senate:	
34		CCTION 1. The Senate expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people	
35	of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at East Carolina University for winning the		
36 27	2013 CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament Championship and recognizes the		
37			

D R S R 7 5 3 0 5 - L G - 1 4

S

General Assembly of North Carolina

Corvonn Gaines, Marshall Guilmette, Maurice Kemp, Yasin Kolo, Miguel Paul, Akeem
Richmond, Peyton Robbins, Paris Roberts-Campbell, Robert Sampson, Erin Straughn, Petar
Torlak, Prince Williams, and Michael Zangari; Head Coach Jeff Lebo; Assistant Coaches Tim

4 Craft, Michael Perry, and Ken Potosnak; and Director of Basketball Operations Kyle Robinson.

- 5 **SECTION 2.** The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution 6 to Chancellor Steve Ballard, Athletics Director Jeff Compher, and Head Coach Jeff Lebo.
- 7 **SECTION 3.** This resolution is effective upon adoption.