GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2013-8 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 21

A JOINT RESOLUTION PROVIDING FOR CONFIRMATION OF APPOINTMENTS BY THE GOVERNOR OF GREGORY M. ALCORN, WILLIAM W. COBEY, JR., REBECCA H. TAYLOR, A.L. COLLINS, OLIVIA OXENDINE, AND MARCELLA RAMIREZ SAVAGE TO THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION.

Whereas, under the provisions of the Constitution of North Carolina and G.S. 115C-10, appointments by the Governor to membership on the State Board of Education are subject to confirmation by the General Assembly in joint session; and

Whereas, the Governor has transmitted to the presiding officers of the Senate and the House of Representatives the names of his appointees to fill the terms of membership on the State Board of Education; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The appointments of Gregory M. Alcorn, William W. Cobey, Jr., and Rebecca H. Taylor to membership on the State Board of Education for terms to expire March 31, 2019, are confirmed. The appointments of A.L. Collins, Olivia Oxendine, and Marcella Ramirez Savage to membership on the State Board of Education for terms to expire March 31, 2021, are confirmed.

SECTION 2. This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 3rd day of April, 2013.

- s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate
- s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

