GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

FILED SENATE
May 23, 2012
S.J.R. 882
PRINCIPAL CLERK

S

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13 14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR95224-LG-188A* (05/21)

Sponsors: Senators Goolsby, Mansfield, and Apodaca (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A JOINT RESOLUTION EXPRESSING GRATITUDE TO THE MEMBERS OF THE MILITARY FOR THEIR SERVICE AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF THOSE KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY.

Whereas, Memorial Day was first observed as Decoration Day on May 30, 1868, as an occasion to decorate the graves of Civil War soldiers; and

Whereas, after World War I, Decoration Day was expanded to honor service members killed in all of our nation's wars and, after World War II, Decoration Day became known as Memorial Day; and

Whereas, in 1971, Congress established Memorial Day as a federal holiday to be observed on the last Monday of May; and

Whereas, as we observe Memorial Day in 2012, it is important to reflect upon the contributions and sacrifices the men and women of our Armed Forces have made in upholding the principles of democracy and liberty while in service to our nation; and

Whereas, it is fitting to honor and commend the North Carolinians, as well as the men and women that served with military units based in North Carolina, who were killed in the line of duty; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses its profound gratitude and appreciation to all the men and women of the United States Armed Forces for their selfless service.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly wishes to honor the memory of all of the members of the military from North Carolina who lost their lives while serving during Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation Enduring Freedom, and Operation New Dawn since May 25, 2011, as follows:

- 25 Chief Special Warfare Operator Christopher G. Campbell, Jacksonville, North Carolina
- 26 Captain Shawn P. T. Charles, Hickory, North Carolina
- 27 Specialist Junot M. L. Cochilius, Charlotte, North Carolina
- 28 Corporal Michael J. Dutcher, Asheville, North Carolina
- 29 Staff Sergeant Brandon F. Eggleston, Candler, North Carolina
- 30 Specialist Daniel L. Elliott, Youngsville, North Carolina
- 31 Specialist David Emanuel Hickman, Greensboro, North Carolina
- 32 Specialist Patrick L. Lay II, Fletcher, North Carolina
- 33 Lance Corporal Christopher P. J. Levy, Ramseur, North Carolina
- 34 Staff Sergeant Leon H. Lucas Jr., Wilson, North Carolina
- 35 Staff Sergeant Christopher R. Newman, Shelby, North Carolina
- 36 Lance Corporal Nicholas S. O'Brien, Stanley, North Carolina



D

4

5 6

7 8

9

10

11

- 1 Staff Sergeant Ergin V. Osman, Jacksonville, North Carolina
- 2 Specialist Calvin M. Pereda, Fayetteville, North Carolina
- 3 Sergeant Colby Lee Richmond, Providence, North Carolina
 - Sergeant Jeffrey C. S. Sherer, Four Oaks, North Carolina

SECTION 3. The General Assembly wishes to honor the memory of all the veterans of past wars who have died since the last Memorial Day.

SECTION 4. The General Assembly extends its deepest sympathy to the families of the service members named above who made the ultimate sacrifice to help secure the freedom of the United States of America. The people of the State of North Carolina owe a debt to these brave service members and solemnly pledge that they shall never be forgotten.

SECTION 5. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

Page 2 S882 [Filed]