GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

FILED SENATE
May 22, 2012
S.B. 859
PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

 \mathbf{S}

1 2

SENATE DRS75196-LB-476 (03/05)

Short Title: Pilot Mountain Even-Year Municipal Elections. (Local)

Sponsors: Senator East.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWN OF PILOT MOUNTAIN ARE HELD IN EVEN-NUMBERED YEARS BEGINNING IN 2012.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.3. Terms; Qualifications; Vacancies. (a) The Mayor shall serve for a term of two years and members of the Board of Commissioners shall serve for terms of four years, beginning the day and hour of the organizational meeting following their election, as established by ordinance in accordance with this Charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualify. qualify, provided further that (i) the Mayor elected in 2011 shall serve a term of one year, but the Mayor's successors shall serve terms of two-years; and (ii) the members of the board of commissioners elected in 2009 and 2011 shall serve terms of three years, but the member's successors shall serve terms of four-years."

SECTION 2. Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, is rewritten to read:

"Sec. 4.1. Regular Elections. Elections shall be held biennially on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November, beginning in 2012. In the 2012 election and biennially thereafter, the candidate for Mayor who receives the largest number of votes cast for Mayor shall be declared elected for a term of two years. In the 2012 election and quadrennially thereafter, the two candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four years. In the 2014 election and quadrennially thereafter, the two candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four years. Regular municipal elections shall be held biennially in even-numbered years, but shall otherwise be conducted in accordance with the general law governing municipal elections, except that absentee ballots shall be available on the same schedule as for county and State officers at that election."

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

