S

1 2

Sponsors:	Senators Blue, Allran, Atwater, and McKissick.
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate.

July 1, 2010

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE DUKE BLUE DEVILS FOR WINNING THE 2010 NATIONAL LACROSSE CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on May 31, 2010, the Duke University men's lacrosse team defeated Notre Dame by a score of 6-5 in overtime to capture the 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship; and

Whereas, this championship gave Duke University its first Division I NCAA title for the men's lacrosse program, providing the university with 12 NCAA titles in five sports; and

Whereas, during the semifinal game of the NCAA tournament on May 29, 2010, the No. 5 seeded Duke University upset the No. 1 seeded University of Virginia winning the game with a score of 14-13; and

Whereas, the lacrosse team finished its season with a record of 16-4 overall, which is the fourth time since 2005 that the program has won at least 16 games in a season; and

Whereas, the lacrosse program has an overall record of 455 wins, including 20 NCAA tournament wins; and

Whereas, much of the Blue Devils' success can be attributed to the leadership of head coach, John Danowski, who during his four seasons at Duke University has earned 66 career victories and 11 NCAA tournament wins; and

Whereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the year and throughout their college careers, including Ned Crotty, the recipient of the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy, which recognizes the nation's top lacrosse player; and

Whereas, several players were selected to either All-Tournament teams, United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America teams, or both, including CJ Costabile, Zach Howell, Michael Manley, Max Quinzani, Ned Crotty, and Parker McKee; and

Whereas, Duke University is leader among the nation's best academic institutions, and this year lacrosse members Parker McKee and Max Quinzani were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Scholar All-America Squad; and

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the lacrosse tradition that began in 1938 at Duke University; and

Whereas, the success of the men's lacrosse team is a fitting testimonial and memorial to the program's former players and coaches, including Tony Cullen, who, as a member of the team from 1978 to 1980, scored 106 goals and had 114 assists and, as the team's head coach from 1982 to 1990, led the team to an overall record of 71-54; and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:



1 2 3

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the Duke University men's lacrosse team for winning the 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly especially recognizes the achievements of

4 5 team members: Brandon Allen, Matt Anderson, Ben Belmont, Michael Catalino, Tom Clute, 6 7 8 9 10 11

Bill Conners, CJ Costabile, Stephen Coyle, Ned Crotty, Greg DeLuca, James Goldberg, Zach Howell, Michael Hutchings, David Lawson, Jonathan Livadas, Eddie Loftus, Michael Manley, Parker McKee, Will McKee, Henry Meyer, Scot Meyer, Terrence Molinari, Tom Montelli, Josh Offit, Jimmy O'Neill, Jason Orlando, Tom Patterson, Sam Payton, Spencer Peterson, Max Quinzani, Mike Rock, Robert Rotanz, Andrew Rullan, Tom Rynn, Steve Schoeffel, Devon Sherwood, Sam Solie, Sam Spillane, Dan Theodoridis, Joe Tkac, Jake Tripucka, Justin Turri, Tucker Virtue, Dan Wigrizer, Max Wygod, and Kevin Young; Head Coach John Danowski; Assistant Coaches Ron Caputo and Chris Gabrielli; and Volunteer Assistant Coach Pat DeBolt.

13 14 15

16

12

SECTION 3. The General Assembly honors the memory of Tony Cullen, former Duke University lacrosse player and coach, for his contributions to the University's lacrosse program.

17 18 19

SECTION 4. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Duke University President Richard H. Brodhead, Vice President and Director of Athletics Kevin White, the family of Tony Cullen, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

20 21

SECTION 5. This resolution is effective upon ratification.