## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S SENATE BILL 102

Short Title:	District 19A District Court Judge Funds.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Hartsell.	
Referred to:	Appropriations/Base Budget.	

## February 11, 2009

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	District	Judges	County
Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans  Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  3A 5 Pitt 3B 6 Craven Pamlico Carteret 4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	1	5	Camden
Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans  2			Chowan
Gates Pasquotank Perquimans  2			Currituck
Pasquotank Perquimans  Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  3A 5 Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax  6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Dare
Perquimans Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  3A 5 Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Gates
Perquimans Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  3A 5 Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington  Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Pasquotank
2       4       Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington         3A       5       Pitt Pitt Pamlico Craven Pamlico Carteret         4       8       Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow         5       9       New Hanover Pender Pender         6A       3       Halifax Northampton Bertie Hertford			
Tyrrell Hyde Washington  3A 5 Pitt 3B 6 Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax  6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	2	4	
Hyde Washington  3A 5 3B 6 Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax  6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Beaufort
Hyde Washington  3A 5 3B 6 Craven Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax  6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Tyrrell
Washington Pitt Pitt Craven Pamlico Carteret Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow Substite of the partie of t			
3A 5 Pitt 3B 6 Craven Pamlico Carteret 4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow 5 9 New Hanover Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			
Pamlico Carteret  4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	3A	5	
Carteret  Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  New Hanover Pender  A B Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow  New Hanover Pender Pender  Halifax  Northampton Bertie Hertford	3B		Craven
4 8 Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow 5 9 New Hanover Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Pamlico
Duplin Jones Onslow  5 9 New Hanover Pender  6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Carteret
Duplin Jones Onslow  Solution  New Hanover Pender  A Solution  A Halifax  B Northampton Bertie Hertford	4	8	Sampson
Jones Onslow Solution New Hanover Pender A Solution Bertie Hertford			
5 9 New Hanover Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			
Pender 6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Onslow
6A 3 Halifax 6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	5	9	New Hanover
6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford			Pender
6B 3 Northampton Bertie Hertford	6A	3	Halifax
Bertie Hertford	6B	3	Northampton
7 Nash			Hertford
	7	7	Nash



6	Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b))
4	Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance
4	Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance
	Lenoir Granville (part of Vance
	Granville (part of Vance
	Granville (part of Vance
	(part of Vance
	•
•	SCE SHUSECHULLULL
	Franklin
')	Person
2	Caswell
2	Warren
2	
	(part of Vance
10	see subsection (b))
	Wake
11	Harnett
	Johnston
	Lee
10	Cumberland
6	Bladen
	Brunswick
	Columbus
7	Durham
4	Alamance
	Orange
_	Chatham
3	Scotland
3	Hoke
5	Robeson
3	Rockingham
	Stokes
4	
1.4	Surry
	Guilford
	Cabarrus
7	Montgomery
	Moore
	Randolph
	Rowan
4	Stanly
	Anson
	Richmond
1	(part of Union
	see subsection (b))
2	(part of Union
	see subsection (b))
1	Union
	Forsyth
	Alexander
5	Iredell
6	Davidson
U	Davidson Davie
	7 4 5 3 5 3 4 14 4-5 7

G	General Assembly of North Carolina Session 2		
1	23	4	Alleghany
2			Ashe
3			Wilkes
4			Yadkin
5	24	4	Avery
6			Madison
7			Mitchell
8			Watauga
9			Yancey
10	25	9	Burke
11			Caldwell
12			Catawba
13	26	21	Mecklenburg
14	27A	7	Gaston
15	27B	5	Cleveland
16			Lincoln
17	28	7	Buncombe
18	29A	3	McDowell
19			Rutherford
20	29B	4	Henderson
21			Polk
22			Transylvania
23	30	6	Cherokee
24			Clay
25			Graham
26			Haywood
27			Jackson
28			Macon
29			Swain."
30	SECTIO	<b>N 2.</b> The Governor shall appo	int the additional district court judge for

**SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 19A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2011.

**SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-four thousand three hundred sixty-three dollars (\$84,363) for the 2009-2010 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred fifty thousand one hundred eight dollars (\$150,108) for the 2010-2011 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this act.

**SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective January 1, 2010.