GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Short Title:	District 19A District Court Judge Funds.	
Sponsors:	Senator Hartsell.	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

1 5	
•	Camden
	Chowan
	Currituck
	Dare
	Gates
	Pasquotank
	Perquimans
2 4	Martin
	Beaufort
	Tyrrell
	Hyde
	Washington
3A 5	Pitt
3B 6	Craven
	Pamlico
	Carteret
4 8	Sampson
	Duplin
	Jones
	Onslow
5 9	New Hanover
	Pender
6A 3	Halifax
6B 3	Northampton
	Bertie



(General Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 2009	
1			Hertford	
2	7	7	Nash	
3			Edgecombe	
4			Wilson	
5	8	6	Wayne	
6			Greene	
7			Lenoir	
8	9	4	Granville	
9	-		(part of Vance	
10			see subsection (b))	
11			Franklin	
12	9A	2	Person	
13	-		Caswell	
14	9B	2	Warren	
15	-		(part of Vance	
16			see subsection (b))	
17	10	19	Wake	
18	11	11	Harnett	
19			Johnston	
20			Lee	
21	12	10	Cumberland	
22	13	6	Bladen	
23	10	Ç	Brunswick	
24			Columbus	
25	14	7	Durham	
26	15A	4	Alamance	
27	15B	5	Orange	
28			Chatham	
29	16A	3	Scotland	
30			Hoke	
31	16B	5	Robeson	
32	17A	3	Rockingham	
33	17B	4	Stokes	
34			Surry	
35	18	14	Guilford	
36	19A	4- <u>5</u>	Cabarrus	
37	19B	7	Montgomery	
38			Moore	
39			Randolph	
40	19C	5	Rowan	
41	20A	4	Stanly	
42			Anson	
43			Richmond	
44	20B	1	(part of Union	
45			see subsection (b))	
46	20C	2	(part of Union	
47	_,_	_	see subsection (b))	
48	20D	1	Union	
49	21	10	Forsyth	
50	22A	5	Alexander	
51	 -		Iredell	

Page 2 S102 [Filed]

G	General Assembly o	Session 2009	
1	22B	6	Davidson
2			Davie
3	23	4	Alleghany
4			Ashe
5			Wilkes
6			Yadkin
7	24	4	Avery
8			Madison
9			Mitchell
10			Watauga
11			Yancey
12	25	9	Burke
13			Caldwell
14			Catawba
15	26	21	Mecklenburg
16	27A	7	Gaston
17	27B	5	Cleveland
18			Lincoln
19	28	7	Buncombe
20	29A	3	McDowell
21			Rutherford
22	29B	4	Henderson
23			Polk
24			Transylvania
25	30	6	Cherokee
26			Clay
27			Graham
28			Haywood
29			Jackson
30			Macon
31			Swain."
32	SECTION	N 2. The Governor shall appo	int the additional district court judge for

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 19A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2011.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-four thousand three hundred sixty-three dollars (\$84,363) for the 2009-2010 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred fifty thousand one hundred eight dollars (\$150,108) for the 2010-2011 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2010.

S102 [Filed] Page 3