GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Η

HOUSE BILL 680*

	Short Title:	Norwood Satellite Annexations. (Local)
	Sponsors:	Representative Burr.
	Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House, if favorable, Judiciary II, if favorable, Finance.
		March 19, 2009
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2 3		DDIFYING THE STANDARDS FOR SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE DF NORWOOD.
4		Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5		ECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b), as it applies to the Town of Norwood under S.L.
6		ls as rewritten:
7		noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
8	standards:	
9	(1	
10		than three miles five miles from the primary corporate limits of the
11	(2	annexing city.
12 13	(2	
13 14		primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section.
14	(3	
16	(5	the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it
17		provides within its primary corporate limits.
18	(4	
19	Ň	as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
20	(5	
21		area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed twenty-five
22		percent (25%) fifty percent (50%) of the area within the primary corporate
23		limits of the annexing city.
24		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord,
25		Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
26		Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton,
27 28		Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
28 29		Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton,
2) 30		Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks,
31		Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland,
32		Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis,
33		Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan,
34		Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville,
35		Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville,
36		Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City,



1

	General Assembly of North CarolinaSession 2009
1	Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,
2	Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."
3	SECTION 2. This act applies to the Town of Norwood only.
4	SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.