H HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 122

Sponsors:	Representatives Glazier,	Parmon,	Folwell,	Dockham	(Primary	Sponsors);
	Faison, Guice, Jones, McGee, Moore, and Womble.					
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Opera	ations of th	ne House.			

February 12, 2009

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2007 MEN'S SOCCER TEAM AT WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY ON WINNING A NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on December 16, 2007, the men's soccer team at Wake Forest University won the National Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) College Cup Title, defeating Ohio State by a score of 2-1; and

Whereas, this achievement gave Wake Forest University its first NCAA men's soccer national championship title; and

Whereas, the men's soccer team finished its 2007 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) season with a record of 6-1-1 and an overall record of 22-2-2, the best in school history; and

Whereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the year, including Marcus Tracy, who was named the NCAA tournament's Most Valuable Offensive Player, and Brian Edwards, who was named the NCAA tournament's Most Valuable Defensive Player; and

Whereas, Cody Amoux, Pat Phelan, and Sam Cronin were named all-Americans by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA); and

Whereas, Corben Bone was named the ACC's Freshman of the Year and selected to the First Team All-Freshman squad by Soccer America along with teammate, Ike Opara; and

Whereas, Pat Phelan and Julian Valentin were selected to play for the U.S. National teams; and

Whereas, Wake Forest's successful season earned head coach Jay Vidovich the 2007 NSCAA Coach of the Year Award and the 2008 Walt Chyzowych Achievement Award, an honor given to coaches who have had a national impact in the development and growth of soccer and its athletes; and

Whereas, Coach Vidovich has never had a losing season, achieving an overall record of 187-81-27 at the end of his 14^{th} season at Wake Forest; and

Whereas, from 1980 through 2007, the men's soccer program has achieved an overall record of 305-191-61; and

Whereas, members of the men's soccer team should also be commended for being active participants in the community and serving as role models for young soccer players across the State and nation; and

Whereas, the success of the men's soccer program along with the many academic achievements of the students is part of a long-standing tradition of excellence at Wake Forest University and a fitting memorial to Samuel Wait, a proponent and early leader of the University, who served as principal when the school was founded as Wake Forest Institute in 1834 and as president of Wake Forest College from 1838 to 1845; and



1 2 3

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of the men's soccer program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition; Now, therefore,

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Samuel Wait for his

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

5 6 7

8

9

10

4

the people of North Carolina to the men's soccer team at Wake Forest University for winning the 2007 NCAA College Cup championship and recognizes the achievements of the members of that team: Lyle Adams, Cody Amoux, Cline Beam, Corben Bone, Evan Brown, Austin Chelko, Will Clayton, Russ Coleman, Nick Courtney, Sam Cronin, Austin da Luz, Brian Edwards, Akira Fitzgerald, Jamie Franks, Alimer Gonzalez, Josh Henke, Mike Lahoud, Jeff Leach, Justin Lichtfuss, David Murphy, Ike Opara, Patrick Phelan, Dylan Sansone, Zack

15 16

17 18

19

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Wake Forest University President Nathan O. Hatch, Athletic Director Ron Wellman, and Coach Jay Vidovich.

Schilawski, Ryan Swaim, Marcus Tracy, and Julian Valentin; head coach Jay Vidovich;

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

assistant coaches Jon Lowery and Carson Porter; and other staff members.

many contributions to Wake Forest University and the State of North Carolina.