GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S 3

SENATE BILL 2045* Second Edition Engrossed 6/10/08 Third Edition Engrossed 6/17/08

Short Title:	Various Satellite Annexations.	(Local)

Sponsors: Senator Albertson.

Referred to: Finance.

May 28, 2008

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF KENANSVILLE, BELMONT, AND GRANITE QUARRY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

8 ...

1 2

3

4 5

6

7

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20 21

22

23

24

2526

27

28

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Belmont, Benson, Bladenboro, Clayton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

1 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.