## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SENATE BILL 1696

Short Title: 21st Century Commission Recommendations. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Jenkins.

Referred to: Commerce, Small Business and Entrepreneurship.

## May 21, 2008

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO EXEMPT INTERSTATE MAINTENANCE FUNDS FROM THE DISTRIBUTION FORMULA FOR INTRASTATE SYSTEM AND TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM AND OTHER CHANGES AS RECOMMENDED BY THE 21<sup>ST</sup> CENTURY TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION'S PRIORITIZATION COMMITTEE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

## **SECTION 1.** G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds and Interstate Maintenance funds appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149, funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180 and funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation authorities, transit authorities, or the Department, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section.
  - (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.
  - (2) Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson.
  - (3) Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

S

10 (7 11 12 13 14 **SI** 

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

(7) Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey."

**SECTION 2.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2008.