## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## SESSION LAW 2008-71 SENATE BILL 1598

AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE THE COUNTY OF NEW HANOVER, THE CITIES OF LOCUST AND WILMINGTON, THE TOWNS OF BEULAVILLE, BUTNER, ERWIN, HOBGOOD, MAYODAN, MOUNT OLIVE, OAKBORO, ORIENTAL, PINEVILLE, AND THE VILLAGE OF PINEHURST TO REGULATE GOLF CARTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-300.5 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-300.5. Regulation of golf carts on streets in certain localities.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 20-50 and G.S. 20-54, a town-city may, by ordinance, regulate the operation of golf carts on any public street or highway within the city limits, or on any property owned or leased by the city.

(b) By ordinance, a city may require the registration of golf carts, charge a fee for the registration, specify who is authorized to operate golf carts, and specify the required

equipment, load limits, and the hours and methods of operation of golf carts.

(c) This section applies to the <u>County of New Hanover, City of to the Cities of Locust, Saluda, and Wilmington, Saluda and to the Towns of Badin, Beulaville, Butner, Carolina Beach, Emerald Isle, <u>Erwin, Faison, Fremont, Hobgood, Indian Beach, Kings Mountain, Kure Beach, Mayodan, Morrisville, Mount Olive, Oakboro, Oriental, Pineville, Shelby, and Wrightsville Beach Wrightsville Beach, and to the Village of Pinehurst only.</u></u>

(d) For purposes of this section, the term 'city' shall include a city, a town, a village, or a county. For purposes of this section, the term 'county' shall mean any

unincorporated areas within that county boundary."

**SECTION 2.** As this act applies to the Town of Mayodan, the Town of Mayodan shall not enact any ordinances regulating golf carts until a public hearing is held and there is a vote by the governing body approving the issue.

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2008.

s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

s/ Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives