GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR55577-LG-629 (12/18)

Sponsors:	Senator Goss.
Referred to:	

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY'S
2	FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS THIRD STRAIGHT NATIONAL
3	CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	Whereas, on December 14, 2007, the Mountaineers won the 2007 National
5	Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) Division I Football Championship
6	Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) title, defeating the University of Delaware by a
7	score of 49-21; and
8	Whereas, the Mountaineers victory earned the team its third straight national
9	title, the first Division I Football Championship Subdivision team to achieve this honor;
10	and
11	Whereas, the Mountaineers had an outstanding season beginning with its first
12	game by upsetting nationally ranked No. 5, the University of Michigan, by a score of
13	34-32; and
14	Whereas, the Mountaineers' victory over the Wolverines secured them a place
15	in college football history because they are the first Division I Football Championship
16	Subdivision team to defeat a Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) team
17	that was ranked in the Associated Press college football poll; and
18	Whereas, the Mountaineers' triumph over the Wolverines influenced the
19	Associated Press to change its 71-year-old policy of allowing only Football Bowl
20	Subdivision teams to be eligible for its Top 25 Poll; and
21	Whereas, the Mountaineers ended their 2007 season as the co-champions of
22	the Southern Conference with an overall record of 13-2; and
23	Whereas, the Mountaineers received five points in the final Associated Press
24	Top 25 Poll, tying them for 34 th place; and
25	Whereas, individual team honors and recognitions included several players
26	named as all-Americans by the College Sports Report, five players named to the
27	Southern Conference TIAA-CREF academic all-conference team, and players selected

1 as candidates for the 2007 Walter Payton Award and the 2007 Buck Buchanan Award; 2 and Whereas, head coach, Jerry Moore, in his 19th season at Appalachian State 3 4 University, was named the 2007 NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision 5 Coach of the Year, becoming the first Division I coach in the organization's 73-year 6 history to receive the honor three straight years; and 7 Whereas, Coach Moore also has the distinction of having the most number of 8 wins of any coach in Southern Conference history with a record of 161-70 while at 9 Appalachian State University: and 10 Whereas, the success of the men's football program along with the many 11 academic achievements of the student body is part of a long-standing tradition of 12 excellence at Appalachian State University; and 13 Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of 14 the men's football program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North 15 Carolina and deserve recognition; and 16 Whereas, it is also fitting to recognize the Mountaineers' outstanding support 17 base, which includes alumni and former athletes; and 18 Whereas, one of those supporters included Lester Hardin, a former 19 Mountaineer who played for the football team between 1947 and 1952; and 20 Whereas, after graduating from Appalachian State University in 1952, Lester 21 Hardin remained loyal to his alma mater, attending athletic activities and helping to 22 raise funds for the athletic department; and 23 Whereas, for many years, Lester Hardin organized reunions of football 24 players who played at Appalachian State University under coach C.E. Duggin; and 25 Whereas, Lester Hardin died on February 20, 2008, leaving the entire 26 Appalachian State University community saddened by his death; Now, therefore, 27 Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring: 28 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and 29 admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's football team at Appalachian 30 State University for winning the 2007 NCAA Division I National Football 31 Championship and recognizes the achievements of the team members, head coach, 32 assistant coaches, and other staff members. 33 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Lester Hardin 34 for his unwavering support of Appalachian State University and the University's athletic 35 teams. 36 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution 37 to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, Athletics Director 38 Charlie Cobb, Head Football Coach Jerry Moore, and the family of Lester Hardin. 39 **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.