GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007 **RATIFIED BILL**

RESOLUTION 2007-31 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1562

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF HALIFAX ON THE OCCASION OF THE TOWN'S TWO HUNDRED FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Halifax, founded on the Roanoke River, was chartered by an act of the Assembly on November 21, 1757; and

Whereas, Halifax was named for George Montague, the second Earl of Halifax, who served as president of the Board of Trade and Plantations when the Town was established; and

Whereas, Halifax served as an important colonial government and commercial center; and

Whereas, on April 12, 1776, the Fourth Provincial Congress met in Halifax and unanimously adopted the "Halifax Resolves," the first official action by a colony recommending independence from Great Britain; and

Whereas, the legislature continued to meet in Halifax between 1779 and 1781; and

Whereas, the citizens of Halifax have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, political, and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, Halifax has continued to grow and prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the Town's concerned leaders and citizens; and Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate the Town's 250th historic

anniversary on July 4, 2007, and during other times throughout the year; and

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the founders of the Town of Halifax and congratulates the Town on its 250th anniversary. SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this

resolution to the Honorable Gerald Wright, Mayor of the Town of Halifax.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 17th day of May, 2007.

> Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives