GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H HOUSE DDH50280 LL 107 (02/12)

Short Title: District 3A District Court Judge Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Williams and McLawhorn (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 3A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

7	
8	

2

3

4

5

6

9	District	Judges	County
10	1	5	Camden
11			Chowan
12			Currituck
13			Dare
14			Gates
15			Pasquotank
16			Perquimans
17	2	4	Martin
18			Beaufort
19			Tyrrell
20			Hyde
21			Washington
22	3A	5 <u>6</u>	Pitt
23	3B	6	Craven
24			Pamlico
25			Carteret
26	4	8	Sampson
27			Duplin

Ger	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 200'	
			Jones	
			Onslow	
	5	8	New Hanover	
			Pender	
	6A	3	Halifax	
	6B	3	Northampton	
	<u>-</u>		Bertie	
			Hertford	
	7	7	Nash	
	,	,	Edgecombe	
			Wilson	
	8	6	Wayne	
	O	0	Greene	
			Lenoir	
	9	4	Granville	
		-	(part of Vance	
			see subsection (b))	
			Franklin	
	9A	2	Person	
	7A	2	Caswell	
	9B	2	Warren	
	ЭБ	2		
			(part of Vance	
	10	16	see subsection (b)) Wake	
	10	9	w ake Harnett	
	11	9	Johnston	
	10	0	Lee	
	12	9	Cumberland	
	13	6	Bladen	
			Brunswick	
	1.4	7	Columbus	
	14	7	Durham	
	15A	4	Alamance	
	15B	5	Orange	
	1.6.4	2	Chatham	
	16A	3	Scotland	
		_	Hoke	
	16B	5	Robeson	
	17A	3	Rockingham	
	17B	4	Stokes	
			Surry	
	18	13	Guilford	
	19A	4	Cabarrus	
	19B	7	Montgomery	

Page 2 H931 [Filed]

General Assembly of No	orth Carolina	Session 200	
		Moore	
		Randolph	
19C	5	Rowan	
20A	4	Stanly	
		Anson	
		Richmond	
20B	1	(part of Union	
		see subsection (b))	
20C	2	(part of Union	
		see subsection (b))	
21	9	Forsyth	
22	9	Alexander	
		Davidson	
		Davie	
		Iredell	
23	4	Alleghany	
	•	Ashe	
		Wilkes	
		Yadkin	
24	4	Avery	
- ·	•	Madison	
		Mitchell	
		Watauga	
		Yancey	
25	9	Burke	
23	,	Caldwell	
		Catawba	
26	18	Mecklenburg	
27A	7	Gaston	
27B	5	Cleveland	
2713	3	Lincoln	
28	7	Buncombe	
29A	3	McDowell	
ZJA	3	Rutherford	
29B	4	Henderson	
2)0	7	Polk	
		Transylvania	
30	6	Cherokee	
30	O	Clay	
		Graham	
		Haywood Jackson	
		Jackson Macon	
		Swain."	

H931 [Filed] Page 3

judgeship authorized by this act.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 3A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009. **SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty thousand eight hundred twenty dollars (\$80,820) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred thirty-six thousand six hundred sixty dollars (\$136,660) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 1, 2008.

Page 4 H931 [Filed]