GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

H 2

HOUSE BILL 842* Senate Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 7/28/07

Short Title: I	Kannapolis Satellite Annexations. (Local)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
	March 15, 2007
	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT	REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE
ANNEXA	TIONS FOR THE CITY OF KANNAPOLIS.
The General A	ssembly of North Carolina enacts:
	TION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:
	oncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
standards:	
(1)	The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not
	more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the
	annexing city.
(2)	No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the
	primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate
	limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this
	section.
(3)	The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to
	provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits
	that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
(4)	If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a
	subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must
	be included.
(5)	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
	the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
	percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
	annexing city.
	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
	Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
	Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
	Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
	Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier,

1	Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton,
2	Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin,
3	Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis,
4	Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland,
5	Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo,
6	Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem,
7	Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,
8	Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."
9	SECTION 2. This act applies to the City of Kannapolis only.
10	SECTION 3. This act applies only to annexations in the area of Cabarrus
11	County bound by the existing City of Kannapolis corporate limits to the east, the
12	Mecklenburg County/Cabarrus County line to the west, the Cabarrus County/Rowan

County/Iredell County lines to the north, and N.C. Highway 73 to the south. **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

13

14