## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 37\* Corrected Copy 1/31/07

Sponsors: Representatives Tarleton, Alexander (Primary Sponsors); Avila, Barnhart, Brubaker, Daughtridge, Dollar, Fisher, Folwell, Frye, Glazier, Harrison, Holloway, Holmes, Kiser, Lewis, McGee, Moore, Ray, Saunders, Steen, Underhill, and Wiley. Referred to: January 31, 2007 A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY 1 2 FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS SECOND STRAIGHT NATIONAL 3 CHAMPIONSHIP AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF DR. LOWELL 4 FURMAN. 5 Whereas, on December 15, 2006, Appalachian State University's football 6 team won the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) Division I 7 championship, defeating the University of Massachusetts by a score of 28-17; and 8 Whereas, this victory gave the Mountaineers their second straight national 9 title; and 10 Whereas, the Mountaineers won their second straight Southern Conference 11 championship compiling a conference record of 7-0 and an overall record of 14-1, the most wins in school history; and 12 13 Whereas, many individual Mountaineer players were recognized for their efforts during the season, including Armanti Edwards, who was named the national 14 15 Freshman of the Year; Kevin Richardson, who was chosen as the Most Valuable Player during the playoffs and the Southern Conference Offensive Player of the Year; and 16 17 Marques Murrell, who was named the Southern Conference Defensive Player of the 18 Year; and 19 Whereas, a school record of eight players received all-American honors, 20 including Armanti Edwards, Kevin Richardson, Kerry Brown, Marques Murrell, Corey 21 Lynch, Jeremy Wiggins, Daniel Bettis, and Matt Isenhour, and 19 players received 22 all-conference selections; and 23 Whereas, Coach Jerry Moore received numerous coaching awards, including 24 the Eddie Robinson Award from The Sports Network, and was named the national 25 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association; and

## **General Assembly of North Carolina**

1 Whereas, Coach Moore improved his number of victories at Appalachian 2 State University to 154, further extending his record for the most wins for any coach in 3 the Southern Conference; and 4 Whereas, the entire football team and coaching staff deserve recognition and 5 congratulations for winning a second national football championship, which has brought 6 great honor and distinction to the State: and 7 Whereas, it is also fitting to recognize the Mountaineers' strong fan base, 8 which provided outstanding support to the team during its 2006 season; and 9 Whereas, one of those ardent fans was the late Dr. Lowell Furman, a longtime 10 supporter of ASU football and ASU athletics, who served as a physician for ASU's 11 football team for five decades, President of the North Carolina Surgical Association, 12 President of the Watauga Surgical Group for 34 years, cofounder of the World Medical 13 Missions, and as a two-term governor for North Carolina to the American College of 14 Surgeons; Now, therefore, 15 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives the Senate concurring: 16 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly congratulates the Appalachian State 17 University Mountaineers on winning the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association 18 Division I Football Championship and recognizes the achievements of the players, 19 coaches, students, alumni, and support staff who were instrumental in helping the 20 football team win its second straight national championship. 21 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Dr. Lowell 22 Furman for his contributions to Appalachian State University athletics. 23 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution 24 to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, Athletics Director 25 Charlie Cobb, Head Coach Jerry Moore, and the family of Dr. Lowell Furman. 26 **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.