GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION DRHJR10008-LG-27A* (12/19)

D

Sponsors:	Representatives Tarleton and Alexander (Primary Sponsors).
Referred to:	

1 A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY 2 FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS SECOND STRAIGHT NATIONAL 3 CHAMPIONSHIP AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF DR. LOWELL 4 FURMAN. 5 Whereas, on December 15, 2006, Appalachian State University's football 6 team won the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) Division I championship, defeating the University of Massachusetts by a score of 28-17; and 7 8 Whereas, this victory gave the Mountaineers their second straight national 9 title; and 10 Whereas, the Mountaineers won their second straight Southern Conference championship compiling a conference record of 7-0 and an overall record of 14-1, the 11 12 most wins in school history; and Whereas, many individual Mountaineer players were recognized for their 13 efforts during the season, including Armanti Edwards, who was named the national 14 Freshman of the Year; Kevin Richardson, who was chosen as the Most Valuable Player 15 during the playoffs and the Southern Conference Offensive Player of the Year; and 16 17 Marques Murrell, who was named the Southern Conference Defensive Player of the 18 Year: and 19 Whereas, a school record of eight players received all-American honors, 20 including Armanti Edwards, Kevin Richardson, Kerry Brown, Marques Murrell, Corey Lynch, Jeremy Wiggins, Daniel Bettis, and Matt Isenhour, and 19 players received 21 22 all-conference selections: and 23 Whereas, Coach Jerry Moore received numerous coaching awards, including the Eddie Robinson Award from The Sports Network, and was named the national 24 25 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association; and 26 Whereas, Coach Moore improved his number of victories at Appalachian State University to 154, further extending his record for the most wins for any coach in 27 28 the Southern Conference: and

1 Whereas, the entire football team and coaching staff deserve recognition and 2 congratulations for winning a second national football championship, which has brought 3 great honor and distinction to the State; and

- 4 Whereas, it is also fitting to recognize the Mountaineers' strong fan base, 5 which provided outstanding support to the team during its 2006 season; and
- 6 Whereas, one of those ardent fans was the late Dr. Lowell Furman, a longtime 7 supporter of ASU football and ASU athletics, who served as a physician for ASU's 8 football team for five decades, President of the North Carolina Surgical Association, 9 President of the Watauga Surgical Group for 34 years, cofounder of the World Medical 10 Missions, and as a two-term governor for North Carolina to the American College of 11 Surgeons; Now, therefore,
- 12 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives the Senate concurring:
- 13 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly congratulates the Appalachian State 14 University Mountaineers on winning the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association 15 Division I Football Championship and recognizes the achievements of the players, 16 coaches, students, alumni, and support staff who were instrumental in helping the 17 football team win its second straight national championship.
- 18 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Dr. Lowell 19 Furman for his contributions to Appalachian State University athletics.
- 20 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution 21 to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, Athletics Director 22 Charlie Cobb, Head Coach Jerry Moore, and the family of Dr. Lowell Furman. 23
 - **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.