## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## SESSION 2007 RATIFIED BILL

## RESOLUTION 2008-5 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2263

## A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENTS OF THE PERSON HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS' VOLLEYBALL TEAM.

Whereas, the Person High School Rockets girls' volleyball team won the North Carolina High School Athletic Association's (NCHSAA) 4-A Girls' State Championship on November 3, 2007, by defeating the Charlotte Meyers Park Mustangs; and

Whereas, this victory gave the Lady Rockets volleyball team its second

consecutive State championship having also won in 2006; and

Whereas, during 2005, 2006, and 2007, the Lady Rockets volleyball team appeared in three consecutive State championship finals, was named East Regional and Piedmont Athletic Conference champions three times, and compiled an impressive record of 79-4, including a regular season record of 42-0; and

Whereas, the Lady Rockets volleyball team is the first Person County high

school team to win a State championship in athletic competition; and

Whereas, the Lady Rockets volleyball team owes much of its success to head

coach Sandy Mathews who has served as a coach for 21 years; and

Whereas, the achievements of the Lady Rockets volleyball team are a fitting testimonial and memorial to former Person County School Superintendents R.B. Griffin and Walter Rogers, Principal Jerry L. Hester, and Principal and Coach Henry Eily; and

Whereas, the Lady Rockets' successful volleyball program has brought great

honor and distinction to the State and deserves recognition; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly congratulates the Person High School Lady Rockets on winning the 2006 and 2007 NCHSAA 4-A State Volleyball Championship and recognizes the achievements of the 2007 team members: Katie Blaylock, Ashley Clayton, Paige Cox, Heather McCarter, Casey Raymer, Rachel Reeves, Jordan Rhew, Amanda Robertson, Katie Tatum, Megan Tatum, Tara Whitfield, and Sara Wrenn; head coach Sandy Mathews; assistant coaches Jennifer Taylor, Micholene Schumacher, and Lynn Ward; parents; and fans who were instrumental in helping the team succeed.

**SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the memory of R.B. Griffin, Walter Rogers, Jerry L. Hester, and Henry Eily for their contributions to the education

system and athletic programs of the Person County schools.

**SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Person High School Principal Margaret Bradsher and to the families of R.B. Griffin, Walter Rogers, Jerry L. Hester, and Henry Eily.

**SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 27<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2008.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives

Page 2 Resolution 2008-5 Res 2008-0005