GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2079

1

Sponsors:	Representatives Tarleton, Alexander, T. Harrell (Primary Sponsors); Avila, Brown, Cotham, Dockham, Dollar, Faison, Frye, Glazier, Gulley, Holmes, Lewis, Steen, Tillis, R. Warren, and Wray.
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.
May 14, 2008	
A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS THIRD CONSECUTIVE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP. Whereas, on December 14, 2007, Appalachian State University's football team won the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) Division I Championship Football Subdivision title, defeating the University of Delaware by a	
score of 49-21; and Whereas, the Mountaineers' victory earned the team its third straight national title, becoming the first Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly	
Division I-AA) team to achieve this honor; and	
Whereas, the Mountaineers began their 2007 season by upsetting the University of Michigan Wolverines, who were then ranked No. 5 in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll; and	

14 Whereas, by defeating the University of Michigan, Appalachian State University secured a place in college football history by becoming the first Division I 15 Football Championship Subdivision team to beat a Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly 16 17 Division I-A) team that was ranked in the Associated Press Top 25 Poll; and

18 Whereas, the Mountaineers' triumph over the Wolverines also influenced the Associated Press to change its 71-year-old policy to allow all Division I teams to be 19 20 eligible for its Top 25 Poll; and

21 Whereas, the Mountaineers ended their 2007 season with an overall record of 22 13-2 and were co-champions of the Southern Conference; and

23 Whereas, the members of ASU's football team along with Coach Jerry Moore and his entire staff deserve recognition for bringing great honor and distinction to the 24 25 State of North Carolina; and

26 Whereas, it is also fitting to recognize the Mountaineers' fans, who have 27 always been an integral part of supporting the team; and

1 Whereas, one of those enthusiastic fans was the late Mariam Cannon Hayes, 2 who gave the single largest gift ever received by Appalachian State University which 3 was used to create an endowment at the University's School of Music which bears her 4 name; Now, therefore,

5 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

6 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly congratulates the Appalachian State 7 University Mountaineers on winning the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association 8 Division I Football Championship and recognizes the achievements of the players, 9 coaches, students, alumni, and support staff, all of whom were instrumental in helping 10 the football team win its third straight national championship.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Mariam Cannon
Hayes for her longtime support of Appalachian State University, higher education, and
the arts.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution
to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, Athletics Director
Charlie Cobb, Head Football Coach Jerry Moore, and the family of Mariam Cannon
Hayes.

18

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.