## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007 RATIFIED BILL

## RESOLUTION 2007-53 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2059

## A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF BRIDGETON ON THE TOWN'S ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Bridgeton, located in Craven County, was settled around 1900 when a number of lumber mills sprung up in the area during a boom in the lumber business; and

Whereas, Bridgeton was incorporated as the Town of Lingfield on February 28, 1907; and

Whereas, the Town of Lingfield changed its name to the Town of Bridgeton on March 8, 1907; and

Whereas, Bridgeton was named for its location at the foot of the Neuse River Bridge; and

Whereas, Bridgeton held its first election on May 7, 1907, electing S.W. Brooks as Mayor, W.R. Hopewell as Constable, and C.A. Ryman, Isaac Lewis, H.M. Bunting, and J.H. Oglesby as Commissioners; and

Whereas, Bridgeton has continued to prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the Town's concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, the Town of Bridgeton has been and continues to be a vibrant community with many fine citizens who have contributed to the character of the Town throughout its existence; and

Whereas, Bridgeton's 307 citizens are very proud of their heritage and "small town" friendly atmosphere; and

Whereas, Bridgeton's 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary is worthy of recognition and celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly honors the memory of the founders of the Town of Bridgeton on the Town's 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

**SECTION 2.** The General Assembly joins the citizens of the Town of Bridgeton in celebrating the Town's 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary and congratulates the Town on its 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

**SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Bridgeton.

**SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2007.

> Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives