GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2007-25 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1380

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE ELIZABETH CITY STATE UNIVERSITY BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2007 CENTRAL INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION (CIAA) BASKETBALL CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on March 3, 2007, the Elizabeth City State University's (ECSU) men's basketball team won the 2007 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Conference (CIAA) Men's Basketball Championship defeating Virginia Union University by a score of 63-60 in Charlotte, North Carolina; and

Whereas, this victory marked ECSU's first championship in 26 years after having wins in 1981 and 1969; and

Whereas, the ECSU men's basketball team arrived at the conference tournament with a 12-15 record as the 7th seed, thus becoming the lowest seeded team to ever win the CIAA Championship; and

Whereas, ECSÚ defeated four teams, Livingstone College of Salisbury, North Carolina; regionally ranked Virginia State University of Petersburg, Virginia; Bowie State University of Bowie, Maryland; and three-time defending CIAA champions and nationally ranked Virginia Union University of Richmond, Virginia, to achieve this championship milestone; and

Whereas, Head Coach Shawn Walker, a fifth-year coach and ECSU alumnus, emerged as a leader, thereby raising his stock as an "up and coming" basketball head coach; and

Whereas, All-CIAA sophomore guard Anthony Hilliard achieved the tourney's MVP and All-CIAA senior center C.J. Pigford and Jabyron Wilson were voted to the All-Tournament Team; and

Whereas, the entire Viking basketball squad, Mike Land, Anthony Hilliard, Brian West, Anthony Butler, Lansen Leach, Olajuwon Johnson, Devin Mooring, Demond Hickman, Jamal Rouse, Trent Bivens, Wallace Sam, C.J. Pigford, Jabyron Wilson, and Shakiem Mitchell, through solid teamwork and quiet resolve out-performed all of their opponents; and

Whereas, the ECSU Vikings received the John B. McLendon Sportsmanship Trophy and the CIAA Team Academic Award recognition for having the highest grade point average (GPA) of all CIAA men's basketball teams demonstrating their well-roundedness as student athletes; and

Whereas, assistant coaches, Alico Dunk, Cleveland Blount, and John Hill contributed significantly to the success of the team; and

Whereas, the success of the men's basketball program along with the many academic achievements of the students is part of a long-standing tradition of excellence at ECSU and a fitting memorial to Dr. Marion D. Thorpe, who presided over the University during its first two CIAA championships in 1968 and 1981; and

Whereas, Dr. Marion D. Thorpe was a devoted leader of ESCU for almost 15 years, having served as the University's President from 1968 to 1972, and as the University's first Chancellor beginning on July 1, 1972, when the University became one of the 16 constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina. Dr. Thorpe died on April 28, 1983; and

Whereas, the entire basketball team and staff deserve accolades for winning the 2007 CIAA Basketball Tournament, which has brought unprecedented recognition to Elizabeth City State University, The University of North Carolina, and northeastern North Carolina; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at Elizabeth City State University for winning the 2007 CIAA Basketball Championship and recognizes the achievements of the team, head coach, assistant coaches, and other staff members.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Dr. Marion D. Thorpe for leadership of Elizabeth City State University and his contributions to the University's students, faculty, and alumni.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Elizabeth City State University's Chancellor Willie J. Gilchrist, Interim Athletic Director Thurlis J. Little, and the family of Dr. Marion D. Thorpe.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 18th day of April, 2007.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives