## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE BILL 849\*

Short Title:	Add'l District Ct Judges/District 10/Funds.	(Public)

Sponsors: Senators Malone, Cowell; and Stevens.

Referred to: Appropriations/Base Budget.

## March 23, 2005

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH TWO NEW DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 10.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5

6 7 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

,	ionowing table.		
8	District	Judges	County
9	1	5	Camden
10			Chowan
11			Currituck
12			Dare
13			Gates
14			Pasquotank
15			Perquimans
16	2	4	Martin
17			Beaufort
18			Tyrrell
19			Hyde
20			Washington
21	3A	5	Pitt
22	3B	5	Craven
23			Pamlico
24			Carteret
25	4	8	Sampson
26			Duplin
27			Jones
28			Onslow
29	5	8	New Hanover

	General Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
1			Pender
2	6A	2	Halifax
3	6B	2 3	Northampton
4	02	C	Bertie
5			Hertford
6	7	7	Nash
7	,	•	Edgecombe
8			Wilson
9	8	6	Wayne
10	<u> </u>	Ŭ	Greene
11			Lenoir
12	9	4	Granville
13		·	(part of Vance
14			see subsection (b))
15			Franklin
16	9A	2	Person
17	<i>711</i>	2	Caswell
18	9B	2	Warren
19	) <b>D</b>	2	(part of Vance
20			see subsection (b))
21	10	<del>15</del> <u>17</u>	Wake
22	11	8	Harnett
23	11	Ö	Johnston
24			Lee
25	12	9	Cumberland
26	13	6	Bladen
27	15	O	Brunswick
28			Columbus
29	14	6	Durham
30	15A	4	Alamance
31	15R 15B	4	Orange
32	135	<b>-</b>	Chatham
33	16A	3	Scotland
34	10/4	3	Hoke
35	16B	5	Robeson
36	17A	$\frac{3}{2}$	Rockingham
37	17B	4	Stokes
38	171	4	Surry
39	18	12	Guilford
40	19A	4	Cabarrus
40	19A 19B	6	
41	17 <b>D</b>	U	Montgomery Moore
42			
	19C	4	Randolph
44	190	4	Rowan

Gen	eral Assembly of No	rth Carolina	Session 2005
	20	7	Stanly
			Union
			Anson
			Richmond
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
		•	Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
		·	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	<del>-</del> ·	·	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	23	O	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
	275	·	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29	7	Henderson
	2)	,	McDowell
			Polk
			Rutherford
			Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
	30	3	Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."
			nt the additional district court judges

**SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judges for District 10 authorized by this act, and those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2006 general election for four-year terms commencing on the first Monday in December 2006.

**SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred thirteen thousand five hundred seventy-six dollars

39

40

41 42

43

44

- 1 (\$213,576) for the 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of two hundred fifty-one thousand
- eight hundred twenty-four dollars (\$251,824) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish
- 3 the two new district court judges for District Court District 10 authorized by this act.
- 4 **SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective October 1, 2005.