GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2005**

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 2063

Senators Cowell, Stevens, Hunt, and Malone. Sponsors:

Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate.

June 22, 2006

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE CAROLINA HURRICANES HOCKEY TEAM. WINNERS OF THE 2006 NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY, THE FAMED STANLEY CUP, NAMED FOR LORD STANLEY, THE EARL OF PRESTON AND GOVERNOR-GENERAL OF CANADA.

Whereas, the Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy competed for by professional athletes in North America, was donated by Frederick Arthur, Lord Stanley of Preston and Governor-General of Canada, in 1893; and

Whereas, Lord Stanley purchased the trophy for presentation to the amateur hockey champions of Canada; and

Whereas, since 1910, when the National Hockey Association took possession of the Stanley Cup, the trophy has been the symbol of professional hockey supremacy; and

Whereas, the Stanley Cup is the most prestigious and coveted trophy in all of professional sports; and

Whereas, Peter Karmanos had the vision and foresight to bring major league professional hockey to North Carolina; and

Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes have the finest front office organization in all of professional sports as Canes' President and long-time General Manager Jim Rutherford was once again named the NHL's Executive of the Year; and

Whereas, the members of the Hurricanes have been tremendous contributors to the community through a variety of charitable works; and

Whereas, the Hurricanes' former captain and future Hall of Famer Ron Francis was the face of hard work and tireless dedication that drew a new generation of fans to the sport of ice hockey; and

Whereas, Hurricanes' fans, known as Caniacs, from all over the Triangle and State have embraced the team and its players and have cheered them to victory, earning the RBC Center the distinction of being the Loudest House in the NHL; and

S

1

4 5 6

1 2

3

7 8 9

10 11 12

14 15

16

13

17 18 19

20

21 22 23

25

24

26 27

28

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes defeated the Montreal Canadiens, the New Jersey Devils, the Buffalo Sabres, and the Edmonton Oilers in the 2006 NHL playoffs; and

Whereas, Coach Peter Laviolette has skillfully guided the Hurricanes into a new era of hockey; and

Whereas, Captain Rod Brind'Amour and the team he leads embody all of the character and qualities that North Carolinians have long held in highest esteem; and

Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes to a man were "relentless" in living up to their creed, "Whatever It Takes" and did what it took to be a champion; and have won for North Carolina and all her sports fans our first major league professional championship; and

Whereas, the names of every player on the Carolina Hurricanes will be forever etched in hockey lore and, most importantly, on the Stanley Cup Trophy; and

Whereas, the name Carolina with our proud history spanning over 400 years will forever be immortalized on Lord Stanley's Cup; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. North Carolina will forever be grateful for the years of tireless effort the players and organization of the Carolina Hurricanes have devoted to bringing our fair State its first professional team championship.

SECTION 2. Having won Lord Stanley's Cup we shall honor and defend the Cup as true champions, and that on this day the Hurricanes are first in the hearts of all North Carolinians and are hereby declared true sons of the Old North State.

SECTION 3. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to each member of the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Team and the team's owner, Peter Karmanos, and coach, Peter Laviolette.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.