GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 2062

1

Sponsors: Senators Hunt, Stevens, Cowell, and Malone.

Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate.

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

June 21, 2006

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE CAROLINA HURRICANES HOCKEY TEAM, WINNERS OF THE 2006 NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY, THE FAMED STANLEY CUP, NAMED FOR LORD STANLEY, THE EARL OF PRESTON AND GOVERNOR-GENERAL OF CANADA.

Whereas, the Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy competed for by professional athletes in North America, was donated by Frederick Arthur, Lord Stanley of Preston and Governor-General of Canada, in 1893; and

Whereas, owner Peter Karmanos moved the team formerly known as the Hartford Whalers to North Carolina in 1997; and

Whereas, since that time, the franchise has continued its tradition of excellence; and

Whereas, on June 19, 2006, the Carolina Hurricanes won the 2006 Stanley Cup by defeating the Edmonton Oilers by four games to three; and

Whereas, the 2006 title is the Carolina Hurricanes' first Stanley Cup and the first professional championship title for any sports franchise in the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, many individual Hurricanes players were recognized for their efforts during the season; and

Whereas, forwards Cory Stillman and Eric Staal were among the NHL's scoring leaders; and

Whereas, team captain Rod Brind'Amour leads the league in game-winning goals and goalie Cam Ward is among the league's goaltending leaders; and

Whereas, Jim Rutherford, an NHL goaltender for 13 seasons and the first general manager of the Carolina Hurricanes, expertly assembled a great team and was named executive of the year by his peers; and

Whereas, Peter Laviolette, head coach since 2003, earned his first Stanley Cup after coaching Team USA in the 2006 Winter Olympics; and

| Whereas, the Canes not only won the NHL's title but earned the Southeastern |
|---|
| Division and Eastern Conference championships and finished their 2006 season with a |
| record of 52-22-8; and |
| Whereas, the entire hockey team and coaching staff deserve congratulations |

Whereas, the entire hockey team and coaching staff deserve congratulations for their extraordinary accomplishments; and

Whereas, community support for the Hurricanes has grown significantly since the team's arrival in North Carolina; and

Whereas, the championship earned by the Carolina Hurricanes has brought great honor and distinction to the State and deserves recognition and appreciation; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly congratulates the Carolina Hurricanes on winning the 2006 National Hockey League's Stanley Cup and recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, support staff, and fans who were instrumental in helping the Canes win the title.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution to Carolina Hurricanes owner Peter Karmanos, President Jim Rutherford and staff, and Coach Peter Laviolette and players.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.