GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE BILL 1687

Short Title: District 14 Judges/Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Lucas.

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

Referred to: Appropriations/Base Budget.

May 18, 2006

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH TWO

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH TWO ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGESHIPS IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 14.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

,	ionowing more.		
10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson
28			Duplin
29			Jones

-	General Assembly of No	rth Carolina	Session 2005	
1			Onslow	
2	5	8	New Hanover	
3	-	·	Pender	
4	6A	2	Halifax	
5	6B	2 3	Northampton	
6			Bertie	
7			Hertford	
8	7	7	Nash	
9			Edgecombe	
10			Wilson	
11	8	6	Wayne	
12			Greene	
13			Lenoir	
14	9	4	Granville	
15			(part of Vance	
16			see subsection (b))	
17			Franklin	
18	9A	2	Person	
19	22-	_	Caswell	
20	9B	2	Warren	
21	<i>-</i>		(part of Vance	
22			see subsection (b))	
23	10	15	Wake	
24	11	8	Harnett	
25		-	Johnston	
26			Lee	
27	12	9	Cumberland	
28	13	6	Bladen	
29			Brunswick	
30			Columbus	
31	14	<u> 68</u>	Durham	
32	15A	4	Alamance	
33	15B	4	Orange	
34			Chatham	
35	16A	3	Scotland	
36			Hoke	
37	16B	5	Robeson	
38	17A	2	Rockingham	
39	17B	4	Stokes	
40	-,-	•	Surry	
41	18	12	Guilford	
42	19A	4	Cabarrus	
43	19B	6	Montgomery	
44	 -	~	Moore	
			1,10010	

Ge	neral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
1			Randolph
2	19C	4	Rowan
3	20A	4	Stanly
4			Anson
5			Richmond
6	20B	3	Union
7	21	9	Forsyth
8	22	9	Alexander
)			Davidson
0			Davie
1			Iredell
2	23	4	Alleghany
3			Ashe
4			Wilkes
5			Yadkin
5	24	4	Avery
7			Madison
8			Mitchell
9			Watauga
)			Yancey
1	25	8	Burke
2			Caldwell
3			Catawba
1	26	17	Mecklenburg
5	27A	6	Gaston
ó	27B	4	Cleveland
7			Lincoln
}	28	6	Buncombe
)	29A	3	McDowell
)	_,	-	Rutherford
[29B	4	Henderson
2	_, _		Polk
3			Transylvania
4	30	5	Cherokee
5		-	Clay
5			Graham
7			Haywood
3			Jackson
)			Macon
)			Swain."
, [SECTION 2.	The Governor shall appo	oint the two additional district court
<u>.</u>	C D' 14		d these indeed an accessors shall be

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the two additional district court judges for District 14 authorized by this act, and those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2008 election for four-year terms commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

42 43

44

- SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
- 2 Department the sum of one hundred fifty-seven thousand ninety-six dollars (\$157,096)
- 3 for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two additional district court judgeships for
- 4 District Court District 14 authorized by this act.
- 5 **SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective January 15, 2007.