GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE DRS55403-LL-333 (4/28)

Short Title:	District 14 Judges/Funds.	(Public)
--------------	---------------------------	----------

Sponsors: Senator Lucas.

Referred to:

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH TWO ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGESHIPS IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 14.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson

Gen	eral Assembly of No	Session 20	
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
	-	-	Pender
	6A	2	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
	02	J	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	1	,	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	
	O	U	Wayne Greene
	0	А	Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
			Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	15	Wake
	11	8	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	<u> 6 8</u>	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	4	Orange
	1313	•	Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
	10/1	3	Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
		2	
	17A		Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
	10	10	Surry
	18	12	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus

Page 2 S1687 [Filed]

	General Assembly of No	Session 2005	
1	19B	6	Montgomery
2			Moore
3			Randolph
4	19C	4	Rowan
5	20A	4	Stanly
6			Anson
7			Richmond
8	20B	3	Union
9	21	9	Forsyth
10	22	9	Alexander
11			Davidson
12			Davie
13			Iredell
14	23	4	Alleghany
15			Ashe
16			Wilkes
17			Yadkin
18	24	4	Avery
19			Madison
20			Mitchell
21			Watauga
22			Yancey
23	25	8	Burke
24		-	Caldwell
25			Catawba
26	26	17	Mecklenburg
27	27A	6	Gaston
28	27B	4	Cleveland
29			Lincoln
30	28	6	Buncombe
31	29A	3	McDowell
32	_,-,-	_	Rutherford
33	29B	4	Henderson
34		•	Polk
35			Transylvania
36	30	5	Cherokee
37		<u> </u>	Clay
38			Graham
39			Haywood
40			Jackson
41			Macon
42			Swain."
43	SECTION 2.	The Governor shall appo	oint the two additional district court

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the two additional district court judges for District 14 authorized by this act, and those judges' successors shall be

44

S1687 [Filed] Page 3

- elected in the 2008 election for four-year terms commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.
- 3 **SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial 4 Department the sum of one hundred fifty-seven thousand ninety-six dollars (\$157,096)
- 5 for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two additional district court judgeships for
- 6 District Court District 14 authorized by this act.

7

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 15, 2007.

Page 4 S1687 [Filed]