GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 2005 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2006-13 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2891

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2006 STANLEY CUP CHAMPION CAROLINA HURRICANES HOCKEY CLUB.

Whereas, the Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy competed for by professional athletes in North America, was donated by Frederick Arthur, Lord Stanley of Preston and Governor General of Canada, in 1893; and

Whereas, Lord Stanley purchased the trophy for presentation to the amateur

hockey champions of Canada; and

Whereas, since 1910, when the National Hockey Association took possession of the Stanley Cup, the trophy has been the symbol of professional hockey supremacy; and

Whereas, in the year 1971, the World Hockey Association awarded a franchise to the New England Whalers; and

Whereas, in 1979, the Whalers played their first regular-season National

Hockey League game; and

Whereas, in May 1997, Peter Karmanos, Jr., announced that the team would relocate to Raleigh, North Carolina, and be renamed the Carolina Hurricanes; and

Whereas, on September 13, 1997, the Carolina Hurricanes played its first preseason game in North Carolina at the Greensboro Coliseum against the New York Islanders; and

Whereas, on October 29, 1999, the Carolina Hurricanes played its first game in the Raleigh Entertainment and Sports Arena, now known as the RBC Center; and

Whereas, on May 28, 2002, the Carolina Hurricanes won the Eastern Conference Championship, winning its first trip to the Stanley Cup Finals; and

Whereas, on June 19, 2006, after playing 107 games and an impressive 52-22-8 regular-season record, the Hurricanes defeated the Montreal Canadiens in six games to win the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals, the New Jersey Devils in five games to win the Eastern Conference Semifinals, and the Buffalo Sabres in seven games to win the Eastern Conference Finals; and

Whereas, the Hurricanes defeated the Edmonton Oilers 3-1 to conclude a dramatic seven-game series to win, for the first time in franchise history, the Stanley

Cup and become National Hockey League Champions; and

Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes franchise, management, and players have demonstrated the talent, skill, and determination that have set attendance records and earned the affection and pride of all North Carolinians; and

Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes Stanley Cup roster of:

#8 Matt Cullen

#11 Justin Williams

#12 Eric Staal

#13 Ray Whitney

#14 Kevyn Adams

#16 Andrew Ladd

#17 Rod Brind'Amour

#18 Mark Recchi

#26 Eric Cole

#27 Craig Adams

#39 Doug Weight

#59 Chad LaRose
#61 Cory Stillman
#63 Josef Vasicek
#2 Glen Wesley
#4 Aaron Ward
#5 Frantisek Kaberle
#6 Bret Hedican
#7 Niclas Wallin
#22 Mike Commodore
#24 Andrew Hutchinson
#48 Anton Babchuk
#70 Oleg Tverdovsky
#29 Martin Gerber; and
#30 Cam Ward

distinguished themselves during the 2005-2006 season and in the playoffs, with Cam Ward winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player to his team in the

playoffs;

Whereas, team management, led by head coach Peter Laviolette, assistant coaches Kevin McCarthy and Jeff Daniels, general manager Jim Rutherford, team owner Peter Karmanos, and many many others, have all had an instrumental role in the Canes' quest for the Cup; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The North Carolina General Assembly honors the accomplishments and dedication of the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Club, its owner, and management in winning the 2006 Stanley Cup, in community service for its charitable efforts, and for its perseverance and dedication to do Whatever It Takes to achieve its goals in a sportsmanlike manner.

SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to each member of the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Club and the team's

owner, Peter Karmanos, and head coach Peter Laviolette.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 22nd day of June, 2006.

Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate
I D. Di. d.
James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives