## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION DRHJR30607-LB-398 (6/20)

D

Sponsors:	Representatives Howard, Ross, Sherrill, and Weiss (Primary Sponsors).
Referred to:	

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2006 STANLEY CUP CHAMPION
2	CAROLINA HURRICANES HOCKEY CLUB.
3	Whereas, the Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy competed for by professional
4	athletes in North America, was donated by Frederick Arthur, Lord Stanley of Preston
5	and Governor General of Canada, in 1893; and
6	Whereas, Lord Stanley purchased the trophy for presentation to the amateur
7	hockey champions of Canada; and
8	Whereas, since 1910, when the National Hockey Association took possession
9	of the Stanley Cup, the trophy has been the symbol of professional hockey supremacy;
10	and
11	Whereas, in the year 1971, the World Hockey Association awarded a
12	franchise to the New England Whalers; and
13	Whereas, in 1979, the Whalers played their first regular-season National
14	Hockey League game; and
15	Whereas, in May 1997, Peter Karmanos, Jr., announced that the team would
16	relocate to Raleigh, North Carolina, and be renamed the Carolina Hurricanes; and
17	Whereas, on September 13, 1997, the Carolina Hurricanes played its first
18	preseason game in North Carolina at the Greensboro Coliseum against the New York
19	Islanders; and
20	Whereas, on October 29, 1999, the Carolina Hurricanes played its first game
21	in the Raleigh Entertainment and Sports Arena, now known as the RBC Center; and
22	Whereas, on May 28, 2002, the Carolina Hurricanes won the Eastern
23	Conference Championship, winning its first trip to the Stanley Cup Finals; and
24	Whereas, on June 19, 2006, after playing 107 games and an impressive
25	52-22-8 regular-season record, the Hurricanes defeated the Montreal Canadiens in six
26	games to win the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals, the New Jersey Devils in five
27	games to win the Eastern Conference Semifinals, and the Buffalo Sabres in seven games
28	to win the Eastern Conference Finals; and

## **General Assembly of North Carolina**

1	Whereas, the Hurricanes defeated the Edmonton Oilers 3-1 to conclude a
2	dramatic seven-game series to win, for the first time in franchise history, the Stanley
3	Cup and become National Hockey League Champions; and
4	Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes franchise, management, and players have
5	demonstrated the talent, skill, and determination that have set attendance records and
6	earned the affection and pride of all North Carolinians; and
7	Whereas, the Carolina Hurricanes Stanley Cup roster of:
8	#8 Matt Cullen
9	#11 Justin Williams
10	#12 Eric Staal
11	#13 Ray Whitney
12	#14 Kevyn Adams
13	#16 Andrew Ladd
14	#17 Rod Brind'Amour
15	#18 Mark Recchi
16	#26 Eric Cole
17	#27 Craig Adams
18	#39 Doug Weight
19	#59 Chad LaRose
20	#61 Cory Stillman
21	#63 Josef Vasicek
22	#2 Glen Wesley
23	#4 Aaron Ward
24	#5 Frantisek Kaberle
25	#6 Bret Hedican
26	#7 Niclas Wallin
27	#22 Mike Commodore
28	#24 Andrew Hutchinson
29	#48 Anton Babchuk
30	#70 Oleg Tverdovsky
31	#29 Martin Gerber; and
32	#30 Cam Ward
33	distinguished themselves during the 2005-2006 season and in the playoffs, with Cam
34	Ward winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player to his team in the
35	playoffs;
36	Whereas, team management, led by head coach Peter Laviolette, assistant
37	coaches Kevin McCarthy and Jeff Daniels, general manager Jim Rutherford, team
38	owner Peter Karmanos, and many many others, have all had an instrumental role in the
39	Canes' quest for the Cup; Now, therefore,
10	

40 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

41 **SECTION 1.** The North Carolina General Assembly honors the 42 accomplishments and dedication of the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Club, its owner, 43 and management in winning the 2006 Stanley Cup, in community service for its 6

- charitable efforts, and for its perseverance and dedication to do Whatever It Takes to
  achieve its goals in a sportsmanlike manner.
- 3 **SECTION 2.** The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this 4 resolution to each member of the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Club and the team's 5 owner, Peter Karmanos, and head coach Peter Laviolette.
  - **SECTION 3**. This resolution is effective upon ratification.