GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

SESSION LAW 2006-150 HOUSE BILL 2339

AN ACT TO ALLOW DAVIE, AND LINCOLN COUNTIES TO REQUIRE THAT ALL TAXES BE PAID ON REAL PROPERTY BEFORE THE REGISTER OF DEEDS MAY RECORD A DEED TRANSFERRING THAT PROPERTY AND BEFORE A BUILDING PERMIT MAY BE ISSUED WITH RESPECT TO THAT PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."

SECTION 2. Section 3(b) of S.L. 2005-433 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 3.(b) This section applies to <u>Davie</u>, Greene, Lenoir, <u>Lincoln</u>, Iredell, Wayne, and Yadkin Counties only."

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 20th day of July, 2006.

- s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
- s/ James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives