## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1836**

1

Sponsors:	Representatives	Harrell,	Holmes,	Daughtridge,	Wilson	(Primary
	Sponsors); Alexander, Barnhart, Brown, Current, Dollar, England, Fisher,					
	Frye, Gibson, Goforth, Hollo, Holloway, Jones, Kiser, LaRoque, Lewis,					
	McGee, Moore, Parmon, Ray, Steen, Vinson, Walker, and Wiley.					
	-					

Referred to: Passed 2nd & 3rd Readings.

## May 10, 2006

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY
 MOUNTAINEERS ON WINNING THE 2005 DIVISION I-AA FOOTBALL
 CHAMPIONSHIP AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF JIM BRAKEFIELD,
 FORMER FOOTBALL COACH OF APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY.

5 Whereas, the late Jim Brakefield, former head coach of Appalachian State 6 University's football team, led the Mountaineers to 47 victories from 1971 to 1979 and 7 helped the team transition into the Southern Conference and the National Collegiate 8 Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I; and

9 Whereas, since that time, the Appalachian State University football program 10 has continued its tradition of excellence; and

Whereas, on December 16, 2005, Appalachian State University won the 2005
 NCAA Division I-AA Football Championship by defeating the University of Northern
 Iowa by a score of 21-16; and

Whereas, the 2005 championship was ASU's first Division I-AA NCAA title and the first football championship title for any public college or university in the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, many individual Mountaineer players were recognized for their efforts during the season, including defensive ends Marques Murrell and Jason Hunter and safety Corey Lynch, who were named to the I-AA All America team; and

Whereas, senior quarterback Richie Williams, Southern Conference
Offensive Player of the Year, helped the Mountaineers win the championship game by
playing during the second half with an injured ankle; and

Whereas, Jerry Moore, head coach since 1989, earned his first national title and improved his number of victories to 140, the most wins for any coach in the Southern Conference; and

Whereas, the Mountaineers not only won the national championship but were 1 2 named the Southern Conference champions and finished their 2005 season with a record 3 of 12-3; and 4 Whereas, the entire football team and coaching staff deserve congratulations 5 for their extraordinary accomplishments; and 6 Whereas, Appalachian State's national championship has brought great honor 7 and distinction to the State and deserves recognition and appreciation; Now, therefore, 8 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring: SECTION 1. The General Assembly congratulates the Appalachian State 9 10 University Mountaineers on winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I-AA Football Championship and recognizes the achievements of the players, 11 12 coaches, students, alumni, and support staff who were instrumental in helping 13 Appalachian State University win the championship. SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Jim Brakefield 14 15 for his contributions to the football program at Appalachian State University from 1971 16 to 1979. 17 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution 18 to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock and head coach Jerry 19 Moore and the family of Jim Brakefield. 20 **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.