GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

HOUSE BILL 1820 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR VARIOUS MUNICIPALITIES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

- "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:
 - (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 19th day of July, 2006.

Beverly E. Perdue	
President of the Ser	nate