GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE BILL 1820 Second Edition Engrossed 6/22/06 Senate Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 7/6/06

	Short Title:Various Satellite Annexations.(Local)
	Sponsors:
	Referred to:
	May 10, 2006
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR VARIOUS
3	MUNICIPALITIES.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
6	"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
7	standards:
8	
9	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
10	the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
11	percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
12	annexing city.
13	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
14	Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
15	Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
16	Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
17	Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier,
18	Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas,
19	Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly
20	Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie
21	Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville,
22	Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte,
23	Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy,
24	Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon."
25	SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

3