GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE BILL 1820 Second Edition Engrossed 6/22/06

Sponsors:Representative Crawford.Referred to:Local Government I.

May 10, 2006

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR VARIOUS	
3	MUNICIPALITIES.	
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
5		SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
6	"(b)	A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
7	standards	
8		
9		(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
10		the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
11		percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
12		annexing city.
13		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
14		Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
15		Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
16		Newton, Oxford, Randleman, City of Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham,
17		Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the
18		Towns of Angier, Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Columbia,
19		Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, <u>Grimesland</u> , Holly
20		Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg,
21		Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville,
22		Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte,
23		Spencer, <u>Stem,</u> Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace,
24		Warsaw, Waynesville, <u>Weldon</u> , Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon."
25	(D	SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law, except as to the City
26	of Roanoke Rapids and the Town of Weldon it becomes effective October 1, 2006.	

(Local)