GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

SESSION LAW 2006-16 HOUSE BILL 1806

AN ACT TO ADD TYRRELL COUNTY TO THE LIST OF COUNTIES WHERE THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY REQUIRE THE REGISTER OF DEEDS TO HAVE A CERTIFICATION THAT NO TAXES ARE DUE ON REAL PROPERTY BEFORE ACCEPTING FOR REGISTRATION A DEED TRANSFERRING OWNERSHIP OF THAT PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lenoir, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."

SECTION 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2006.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 20th day of June, 2006.

- s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
- s/ James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives