GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H 1

HOUSE BILL 1806

Short Title: Tax Certification - Register of Deeds. (Local)

Sponsors: Representative Owens.

Referred to: Local Government I.

May 9, 2006

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO ADD TYRRELL COUNTY TO THE LIST OF COUNTIES WHERE 3 THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY REQUIRE THE REGISTER OF 4 DEEDS TO HAVE A CERTIFICATION THAT NO TAXES ARE DUE ON REAL 5 PROPERTY **BEFORE** ACCEPTING FOR REGISTRATION Α DEED TRANSFERRING OWNERSHIP OF THAT PROPERTY. 6

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

- 9 "(b) Applicability. This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson,
- 11 Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Halifax,
- 12 Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lenoir,
- 13 Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank,
- 14 Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford,
- 15 Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, <u>Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson, and</u>
- 16 Yadkin Counties."

7

8

17 **SECTION 2.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2006.