## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H HOUSE DRH50507-LY-310 (4/19)

(Local)

Sponsors: Representative Owens.

Referred to:

7

8

Short Title:

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

Tax Certification - Register of Deeds.

AN ACT TO ADD TYRRELL COUNTY TO THE LIST OF COUNTIES WHERE
THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY REQUIRE THE REGISTER OF
DEEDS TO HAVE A CERTIFICATION THAT NO TAXES ARE DUE ON REAL
PROPERTY BEFORE ACCEPTING FOR REGISTRATION A DEED
TRANSFERRING OWNERSHIP OF THAT PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:

- 9 "(b) Applicability. This section applies only to Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Davidson,
- Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Halifax,
- Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lenoir,
- 13 Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank,
- 14 Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford,
- 15 Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wilson, and
- 16 Yadkin Counties."
- 17 **SECTION 2.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2006.