GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H
HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1178

Sponsors: Representatives Hackney, Insko, Owens, Crawford (Primary Sponsors);

B. Allen, L. Allen, Coleman, Frye, Gillespie, Harrison, Luebke, Martin,

McLawhorn, Ray, and Underhill.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

1011

12

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

20 21

22

2324

25

26

27

28

Referred to: Calendar Pursuant to Rule 32(a) for Tuesday, April 12, 2005.

April 12, 2005

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2005 NCAA DIVISION I CHAMPIONSHIP AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF FORMER TAR HEEL PLAYERS AND COACHES.

Whereas, on April 4, 2005, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill men's basketball team defeated the University of Illinois with a score of 75-70 to win the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men's Basketball Tournament; and

Whereas, this is the first national championship for the men's basketball team in 12 years, adding to the team's previous NCAA championships in 1957, 1982, and 1993; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels became the third team in NCAA Division I men's history, and the first team since 1963, to win the NCAA championship and lead the nation in scoring; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels' victory was the first NCAA championship for Coach Roy Williams, who has achieved an impressive record of 470 wins and 116 losses during his 17 seasons as a head coach and has the best record of any active coach in men's basketball; and

Whereas, on the team's road to the final championship game, the Tar Heels defeated the Oakland Golden Grizzlies, Iowa State Cyclones, Villanova Wildcats, Wisconsin Badgers, and the Michigan State Spartans; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels finished the 2004-2005 season with a 33-4 record, including 15-0 at home, and the number 1 ranking in the final USA Today/ESPN Coaches Poll; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels' perseverance, teamwork, and ensuing triumph have brought great honor and distinction to the State; and

Whereas, the success of men's basketball at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is a fitting testimonial and memorial to the program's former players and

coaches, including Hall of Fame member and former Head Coach Frank McGuire, who guided the 32-0 Tar Heels to win the national championship title in 1957; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of Frank McGuire and extends the appreciation of the citizens of this State to former head coaches Dean Smith, Bill Guthridge, and Matt Doherty for their service to the men's basketball program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

SECTION 2. The North Carolina General Assembly expresses the extreme appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Men's Basketball Team for winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Basketball Championship and especially recognizes the achievements of Head Coach Roy Williams; Assistant Coaches Joe Holladay, Steve Robinson, and C.B. McGrath; team members Charlie Everett, Raymond Felton, Brooks Foster, Damion Grant, Jesse Holley, C.J. Hooker, Jackie Manuel, Sean May, Rashad McCants, Wes Miller, David Noel, Byron Sanders, Melvin Scott, Reyshawn Terry, Quentin Thomas, Jawad Williams, and Marvin Williams; and support staff Jerod Haase, Marc Davis, and Jonas Sahratian.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Chancellor James Moeser, Athletic Director Dick Baddour, and Head Coach Roy Williams.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.