GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1999

S 1 SENATE BILL 239 Short Title: TIP Funding Allocations/Loans. (Public) Sponsors: Senators Rand; Carter, Cooper, East, Forrester, Garrou, Hartsell, Hoyle, Kerr, Metcalf, Perdue, Phillips, Plyler, Robinson, Soles, and Warren. Referred to: Transportation. March 4, 1999 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT UNEXPENDED FUNDS DEDICATED TO A CERTAIN DISTRIBUTION REGION PURSUANT TO G.S. 136-17.2A SHALL BE USED FOR PROJECTS IN THAT DISTRIBUTION REGION OR MAY BE USED FOR LOANS TO OTHER DISTRIBUTION REGIONS. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: Section 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten: Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section. For purposes of this distribution, the counties of the State are grouped into seven distribution regions, each consisting of two divisions, as follows: Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie. (1) Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perguimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson. Division 1 and

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

1213

14

15

16

17 18

Division 4.

- Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, (2) Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson. Division 2 and Division 3. (3) Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren. Division 5 and Division 6.
 - (4) Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes. Division 7 and Division 9.
 - (5) Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union. Division 8 and Division 10.
 - (6) Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin. Division 11 and Division 12.
 - (7) Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey. Division 13 and Division 14."

Section 2. G.S. 136-17.2A is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

- "(g) Unexpended and unencumbered funds that have been designated pursuant to the allocation formula provisions of this section for projects to be constructed under the Transportation Improvement Program in a particular Division shall remain available, from year to year, for construction of projects in that Division and shall be used for projects in that Division. In order to make the most efficient use of available funds, the Highway Administrator may advance to one or more divisions another division's unexpended and unencumbered funds. Those divisions that received the advanced funds shall repay the amount received to the loaning division as soon as the loaning division has projects available for funds."
 - Section 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.