## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1997 SESSION RATIFIED BILL

## RESOLUTION 14 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 871

A JOINT RESOLUTION COMMEMORATING THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE CITY OF GOLDSBORO AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF MAJOR MATTHEW TILGHMAN GOLDSBOROUGH.

Whereas, the City of Goldsboro was granted a charter by the State of North Carolina on January 18, 1847; and

Whereas, the year 1997 marks the Sesquicentennial Anniversary of the

incorporation of the City of Goldsboro; and

Whereas, the City of Goldsboro is recognized as being an important and significant entity contributing to the outstanding character and reputation that is enjoyed by the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, during its 150 years as a vital member of the North Carolina community, Goldsboro has extended a warm and hospitable hand to all who have entered

its boundaries, exemplifying the characteristics that define our fine State; and

Whereas, the City of Goldsboro has been represented by men and women in all wars sanctioned by the United States, to fight for the principles of democracy, freedom, and justice; and

Whereas, the City of Goldsboro possesses a rich and valuable history; and

Whereas, at this time when the City of Goldsboro is observing its Sesquicentennial Anniversary, it is only fitting to honor the memory of Major Matthew Tilghman Goldsborough, a civil engineer who was in charge of the survey and the building of the Wilmington and Weldon Railroad, for whom the city is named;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly observes the Sesquicentennial Anniversary of the City of Goldsboro and honors the memory of Major Matthew Tilghman Goldsborough.

Section 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the City of Goldsboro.

Section 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29th day of May, 1997.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives

\_\_\_\_\_