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§ 90-13.2.  Registration every year with Board. 

(a) Every person licensed to practice medicine by the North Carolina Medical Board 

shall register annually with the Board within 30 days of the person's birthday. 

(b) A person who registers with the Board shall report to the Board the person's name 

and office and residence address and any other information required by the Board, and shall 

pay an annual registration fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), except those who have a 

limited license to practice in a medical education and training program approved by the Board 

for the purpose of education or training shall pay a registration fee of one hundred twenty-five 

dollars ($125.00), and those who have a retired limited volunteer license pursuant to 

G.S. 90-12.1B or a limited volunteer license pursuant to G.S. 90-12.1A shall pay no annual 

registration fee. However, licensees who have a limited license to practice for the purpose of 

education and training under G.S. 90-12.01 shall not be required to pay more than one annual 

registration fee for each year of training. 

(c) Repealed by Session Laws 2016-117, s. 2(i), effective October 1, 2016. 

(d) A physician who is not actively engaged in the practice of medicine in North 

Carolina and who does not wish to register the license may direct the Board to place the license 

on inactive status. 

(e) A physician who fails to register as required by this section shall pay an additional 

fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) to the Board. The license of any physician who fails to register and 

who remains unregistered for a period of 30 days after certified notice of the failure is 

automatically inactive. The Board shall retain jurisdiction over the holder of the inactive 

license. 

(f) Except as provided in G.S. 90-12.1B, a person whose license is inactive shall not 

practice medicine in North Carolina nor be required to pay the annual registration fee. 

(g) Upon payment of all accumulated fees and penalties, the license of the physician 

may be reinstated, subject to the Board requiring the physician to appear before the Board for 

an interview and to comply with other licensing requirements. The penalty may not exceed the 

maximum fee for a license under G.S. 90-13.1. 

(h) The Board shall not deny a licensee's annual registration based solely on the 

licensee's failure to become board certified.  (1957, c. 597; 1969, c. 929, s. 5; 1979, c. 196, s. 2; 

1983 (Reg. Sess., 1984), c. 1063, s. 2; 1987, c. 859, s. 12; 1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 566, s. 1; 

1995, c. 94, s. 16; 1995 (Reg. Sess., 1996), c. 634, s. 1(a); 1997-481, s. 3; 2000-5, s. 3; 

2001-493, s. 3; 2005-402, s. 6; 2007-346, s. 7; 2007-418, s. 9; 2011-355, s. 6; 2016-117, s. 

2(i).) 


