Part 7. Title and Registration Fees.

20-85. Schedule of fees.

(a) The following fees are imposed concerning a certificate of title, a registration card, or a registration plate for a motor vehicle. These fees are payable to the Division and are in addition to the tax imposed by Article 5A of Chapter 105 of the General Statutes:

 

(1) Each application for certificate of title ............................................................ $56.00

(2) Each application for duplicate or corrected certificate of title ........................ 21.50

(3) Each application of repossessor for certificate of title .................................... 21.50

(4) Each transfer of registration ............................................................................ 21.50

(5) Each set of replacement registration plates ..................................................... 21.50

(6) Each application for duplicate registration card .............................................. 21.50

(7) Each application for recording supplementary lien ........................................ 21.50

(8) Each application for renewing a security interest on a

certificate of title or removing a lien or security interest

from a certificate of title ................................................................................. 21.50

(9) Each application for certificate of title for a motor

vehicle transferred to a manufacturer, as defined

in G.S. 20-286, or a motor vehicle retailer

for the purpose of resale ................................................................................. 21.50

(10) Each application for a salvage certificate of title made by

an insurer pursuant to G.S. 20-109.1 or by a used motor

vehicle dealer pursuant to G.S. 20-109.1(e1).................. ....................... 21.50

(11) Each set of replacement Stock Car Racing Theme plates

issued under G.S. 20-79.4............................................................................... 25.00.

 

(a1) (Effective until June 30, 2031) One dollar ($1.00) of the fee imposed for any transaction assessed a fee under subdivision (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(7), (a)(8), or (a)(9) of this section shall be credited to the North Carolina Highway Fund. The Division shall use the fees derived from transactions with commission contract agents for the payment of compensation to commission contract agents. An additional twenty cents (20) of the fee imposed for any transaction assessed a fee under subdivision (a)(1) of this section shall be credited to the Mercury Pollution Prevention Fund in the Department of Environmental Quality.

(a1) (Effective June 30, 2031) One dollar ($1.00) of the fee imposed for any transaction assessed a fee under subdivision (a)(1), (a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(7), (a)(8), or (a)(9) of this section shall be credited to the North Carolina Highway Fund. The Division shall use the fees derived from transactions with commission contract agents for the payment of compensation to commission contract agents.

(a2) From the fees collected under subdivisions (a)(1) through (a)(9) of this section, the Department shall annually credit the sum of four hundred thousand dollars ($400,000) to the Reserve for Visitor Centers in the Highway Fund.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (a1) and (a2) of this section, the fees collected under subdivisions (a)(1) through (a)(9) of this section shall be credited to the North Carolina Highway Trust Fund. The fees collected under subdivision (a)(10) of this section shall be credited to the Highway Fund.

(c) The Division shall not collect a fee for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle entitled to a permanent registration plate under G.S. 20-84. The Division shall not collect a fee for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle to be used by a State agency in a research pilot or demonstration project. (1937, c. 407, s. 49; 1943, c. 648; 1947, c. 219, s. 9; 1955, c. 554, s. 4; 1961, c. 360, s. 19; c. 835, s. 11; 1975, c. 430; c. 716, s. 5; c. 727; c. 875, s. 4; c. 879, s. 46; 1979, c. 801, s. 11; 1981, c. 690, s. 19; 1989, c. 692, s. 2.1; c. 700, s. 1; c. 770, s. 74.11; 1991, c. 193, s. 8; 1993, c. 467, s. 5; 1995, c. 50, s. 2; c. 390, s. 34; c. 509, s. 135.2(i), (j); 1999-220, s. 2; 2004-77, s. 2; 2004-185, s. 6; 2005-276, s. 44.1(k); 2005-384, s. 2; 2006-255, s. 5; 2006-264, s. 35.5; 2007-142, s. 8; 2011-145, ss. 28.30(a), 31.11; 2011-391, s. 54; 2013-183, s. 2.1; 2013-360, s. 34.16(b); 2013-400, s. 5; 2015-241, ss. 14.30(u), 29.30(j); 2016-59, s. 5; 2016-94, ss. 14.1(a), 35.3(a); 2017-57, s. 34.37(a); 2019-153, s. 5; 2020-74, s. 7(c); 2022-68, s. 11(b).)