143B-98. Edenton Historical Commission - members; selection; compensation; quorum.

The Edenton Historical Commission shall consist of 33 members, 22 appointed by the Governor to serve at his pleasure, four appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, four appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and, ex officio, the Mayor of the Town of Edenton, the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Chowan County, and the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources or his designee.

All the present members of the Commission may continue to serve, at the pleasure of the Governor, until the end of his present term of office. The Commission shall elect its own officers, and the members of the Commission shall serve without pay and without expense allowance from State funds. The Commission shall determine its requirements for a quorum. (1973, c. 476, s. 93; 1979, c. 733, s. 2; 2005-421, s. 3.1(a); 2015-241, s. 14.30(t).)